Tago Mago

Transmusicales 2022

In concert on Saturday, December 10 / Hall 8

Under the combined effects of the announced sonic warming and a creeping rhythmic pandemic, a sonic volcano is erupting in Rennes. Its instigators are Joris Prigent on keyboards and Léo Le Roux on drums, two renowned musicians of the Rennes scene (Initials Bouvier Bernois, The Madcaps, Nebia…) driven by a fierce will to experiment and create a resolutely liberating music.

 

With a name borrowed from the most famous album of the great German krautrock band Can, how could it be otherwise? With a background in 70’s prog rock (Soft Machine school), Tago Mago’s music freely distills flamboyant cavalcades, psychedelic odysseys, unstoppable grooves blending with a very particular approach to trance like Zombie Zombie or The Comet Is Coming.

 

In live, the complicity and the complementarity of the duo is obvious, almost striking: on one side the wild panting of the drums which squares the perimeter, on the other the keyboards which open great spaces: the Tago Mago machine works at full speed, like an impetuous mechanism that nothing can stop!

 

Revelation to follow, this detonating duo from Rennes, is also accompanied by ATM and the Station Service.

Tago Mago

Transmusicales 2022

En concert le samedi 10 décembre / Hall 8

Sous les effets conjugués du réchauffement sonique annoncé et d’une pandémie rythmique rampante, un volcan sonique est en éruption à Rennes. Ses instigateurs sont Joris Prigent aux claviers et Léo Le Roux à la batterie, deux musiciens réputés de la scène rennaise (Initials Bouvier Bernois, The Madcaps, Nebia…) animés par une volonté farouche d’expérimenter et de créer une musique résolument libératrice.

 

Avec un nom emprunté à l’album le plus célèbre du grand groupe de krautrock allemand Can, comment pourrait-il en être autrement ? Matinée de rock prog 70’s (école Soft Machine), la musique de Tago Mago distille librement cavalcades flamboyantes, odyssées psychédéliques, grooves imparables se mêlant avec une approche très particulière de la transe à l’instar de Zombie Zombie ou The Comet Is Coming.

 

En live, la complicité et la complémentarité du duo est évidente presque saisissante : d’un côté le halètement sauvage de la batterie qui quadrille le périmètre, de l’autre les claviers qui ouvrent des grands espaces : la machine Tago Mago fonctionne à plein régime, telle une mécanique impétueuse que rien ne peut arrêter !

 

Révélation à suivre, ce détonant duo rennais, est par ailleurs accompagné par ATM et la Station Service.