Rubin Steiner & The Dictaphone

Banananas

Out March 03rd

Platinum Rds

Vibraphones, marimbas, piano, congas, bongos, theremin and space echo are just some of the instruments Rubin Steiner and The Dictaphone have used to make this album of pure exotica, a tribute to their huge collection of records by the masters of the genre – Les Baxter, Martin Denny, Esquiver, Eden Ahbez and many others. Far from their usual style, the two musicians try out rhythms inspired by tropical regions on melodies as beautiful as they are obvious. An instrumental record that is out of fashion, timeless.

Caribbean swing, slow-samba, bossa-pop or coconut-mood, everyone will invent the genre that suits him or her to describe these twelve tracks, true instant classics, which will sunshine your winters, accompany your summer siestas or travel at a lower cost to imaginary islands with heavenly beaches.

Rubin Steiner

Over the last twenty years, Fred Landier from Tours has shaken up the codes of disco, post-punk, hip-hop and techno, whether on stage (in a group or solo) or on his numerous albums.
Producer, remixer, DJ, videographer, lecturer, he also makes music for theatre and contemporary dance, as well as performances with writers. He also plays bass in the band DRAME and forms the duo CAMPING CAR with Ms. Douze (who plays synth in the Rubin Steiner Trio on stage and who also designs his record covers, as well as the cover of “Banananas”).

 

The Dictaphone

Multi-instrumentalist, great specialist of the English and American proto-punk-DIY movements of the 70s and 80s, Jérémie Morin has made 10 albums since 2009 under the name of The Dictaphone.

Released on European and American labels, his records navigate between garage, post-punk and experimental music, with a freedom inherited from some of his heroes, like Brian Eno, DEVO or The Intelligence.

He is also the drummer of the Rubin Steiner Trio on stage, and the drummer of the disco-krautrock band DRAME.

Rubin Steiner & The Dictaphone

Banananas

Sortie le 03 mars 2023

Platinum Rds

Vibraphones, marimbas, piano, congas, bongos, theremin et space echo, voici un aperçu de l’arsenal d’instruments qu’ont utilisé Rubin Steiner et The Dictaphone pour réaliser cet album de pur exotica, en hommage à leur énorme collection de disques des maîtres du genre – Les Baxter, Martin Denny, Esquiver, Eden Ahbez et tant d’autres. Loin de leur style habituel, les deux musiciens s’essayent ici à des rythmes inspirés de régions tropicales sur des mélodies aussi belles qu’évidentes. Un disque instrumental hors des modes, atemporel.

 

Swing caribéen, slow-samba, bossa-pop ou coconut-mood, chacun inventera le genre qui lui convient pour qualifier ces douze morceaux, véritables classiques instantanés, qui sauront ensoleiller vos hivers, accompagner vos siestes estivales ou voyager à moindre frais dans des îles imaginaires aux plages paradisiaques.

 

Rubin Steiner

 

Ces vingt dernières années, le tourangeau Fred Landier a bousculé les codes du disco, du post-punk, du hip-hop ou de la techno, que ce soit sur scène (en groupe ou en solo) ou sur ses nombreux albums.
Producteur, remixeur, DJ, vidéaste, conférencier, il fait également de la musique pour le théâtre et la danse contemporaine, ainsi que des performances avec des écrivains. Il joue également de la basse dans le groupe DRAME et forme le duo CAMPING CAR avec Mme Douze (qu’on retrouve au synthé dans le Rubin Steiner Trio sur scène, et qui réalise par ailleurs ses pochettes de disques, ainsi que celle de « Banananas »).

The Dictaphone

 

Multi-instrumentiste, grand spécialiste des mouvements proto-punk-DIY anglais et américains des années 70 et 80, Jérémie Morin a fait 10 albums depuis 2009 sous le nom de The Dictaphone.

Sortis sur des labels européens et américains, ses disques naviguent entre garage, post-punk et musique expérimentale, avec une liberté héritée de certains de ses héros, comme Brian Eno, DEVO ou The Intelligence.

Il est aussi batteur du Rubin Steiner Trio sur scène, et batteur du groupe disco-krautrock DRAME.