Francis Lung

A Dream Is U

Out September 13th 2019

Memphis Industries

Francis Lung describes his new album as “a kaleidoscopic dreamscape recorded in full audial Technicolor, swimming with strings, harmonies, silver saxophones and merry go-round guitars. it’s the record I’ve always wanted to make”. Released later this Summer via Memphis Industries, Lung’s much-anticipated debut album ‘A Dream Is U’ is bold and ambitious, a magical musical journey informed by the greats but also one that is wonderfully idiosyncratic, the sound of a multi-instrumentalist tying together all manner of influences into one beautifully crafted album.


‘A Dream Is U’ is the first fully-realised Francis Lung record, a studio undertaking brought to life with producer Brendan Williams (Dutch Uncles, GoGo Penguin), a colourful patchwork of vision and ingenuity. “Before we started recording I knew exactly what the arrangements were in my head” Francis says, reflecting on the time spent devising his new work. “It was kind of my mission to capture everything as it was in my imagination”.

Touching upon the universal themes of addiction, faith, and love in all of its confusion, ‘A Dream Is U’ is a collection of characters and stories that plays out something like a Harvey Pekar comic strip; an obsessive chronicle of daily lives twisted into new shapes by the unique mind and manners of their narrator. With flashes of striking colour and an ever-present wry smile, Francis Lung has created a debut album that drifts between simple acceptance and exuberant yearning for more.

At times boisterous and radiant, elsewhere contemplative and brooding, ‘A Dream Is U’ feels like being awake in dreams, like stepping outside of the daily rotation; like shadows leaving their dancing bodies to waltz away to their own tune.

Francis Lung

A Dream Is U

Sortie le 13 septembre 2019

Memphis Industries

Francis Lung décrit son nouvel album comme « un paysage de rêve kaléidoscopique enregistré en plein son technicolor, nageant avec des cordes, des harmonies, des saxophones argentés et des guitares joyeuses. c’est le disque que j’ai toujours voulu faire ». Attendu en septembre sur Memphis Industries, le très attendu premier album de Lung, A Dream Is U est audacieux et ambitieux. C’est un voyage musical magique inspiré par les grands, mais aussi merveilleusement idiosyncratique, le son d’un multi-instrumentiste se mêlant à toutes sortes d’influences dans un album magnifiquement conçu.

A Dream Is U est le premier LP de Francis Lung, un projet studio qui voit le jour avec le concours du producteur Brendan Williams (Dutch Uncles, GoGo Penguin), un patchwork coloré d’images et de naïveté. « Avant de commencer à enregistrer, les arrangements étaient déjà très clairs dans ma tête », explique Francis, évoquant le temps passé à concevoir son nouveau travail. « C’était un peu ma mission de tout restituer tel que c’était dans mon imagination ».

Abordant les thèmes universels de la dépendance, de la foi et de l’amour dans toute sa confusion, A Dream Is U est une collection de personnages et d’histoires qui joue un peu à la manière d’une bande dessinée Harvey Pekar : une chronique obsessionnelle de la vie quotidienne transformée en formes nouvelles par l’esprit et les manières uniques de leur narrateur. Avec des éclairs de couleurs éclatantes et un sourire ironique toujours présent, Francis Lung a créé un premier album qui oscille entre une acceptation simple et un désir exubérant d’en avoir plus.

Parfois rêveur et radieux, ailleurs contemplatif et sombre, A Dream Is U nous emmène dans un rêve éveillé, comme si on sortait de la routine quotidienne, comme des ombres laissant leurs corps dansants se perdre sur leur propre mélodie.