Daniel Lopatin

Uncut Gems

Out December 13th 2019

Warp

Daniel Lopatin returns as composer for Josh and Benny Safdie’s latest film Uncut Gems, whose soundtrack will be out internationally December 13 from Warp Records the same day the film is released in U.S. theaters by A24. The film stars Adam Sandler, NBA player Kevin Garnett, Lakeith Stanfield, Irina Mendel, Abel “The Weeknd” Tesfaye, and Julia Fox, and has screened to rapturous response from critics and audiences at the Telluride, Toronto and New York film festivals. The hypnotic crime thriller follows Sandler’s Howard Ratner, a charismatic hustler always on the lookout for the next big score, on a twisted odyssey in pursuit of the windfall of a lifetime.

Daniel Lopatin (Oneohtrix Point Never) and the Safdie brothers have developed a close partnership over the years through their shared love of cult genre movies and music. As Josh Safdie recently said in an interview with Variety, “I was a fan of his music… his albums are very conceptual, and he was making basically scores for movies that didn’t exist. So when we met on Good Time, after he saw the way we were using a lot of Debussy on our film prior to that, he was like, ‘Oh let’s get deep together,’ and we’ve become very close friends.”

Daniel Lopatin is a Brooklyn-based musician, composer, and Mercury Prize nominated producer who also records and performs as Oneohtrix Point Never. Daniel has released numerous critically acclaimed albums, including his most recent Age Of (2018, Warp Records). In 2018 he premiered a sold-out live multimedia concert MYRIAD composed from Age Of at the Park Avenue Armory (New York) followed by sold-out performances at prestigious venues worldwide including The Barbican, London and Walt Disney Concert Hall, Los Angeles.

His original film scores include Josh and Benny Safdie’s Uncut Gems (2019) and Good Time (2017) for which he received the Best Soundtrack Award at the 2017 Cannes Film Festival, and  Ariel Kleiman’s Partisan (2015). His other film work includes contributions to Rick Alverson’s The Mountain (2019) and Sofia Coppola’s The Bling Ring (2013).

Lopatin has been commissioned and exhibited by Sadie Coles HQ, London (2019), The Park Avenue Armory, New York (2018), Frieze Projects New York (2017); Hammer Museum, Los Angeles (2016); Holland Festival (2014); Tate Britain, London and MoMA PS1, New York (both 2013); Hirshhorn Museum and Sculpture Garden, Washington, D.C., and Saatchi & Saatchi, London (both 2012); and The Museum of Modern Art, New York (2011) among others. He has collaborated with numerous artists including James Blake, Ishmael Butler, Kelsey Lu, Iggy Pop and his production credits include Anohni, FKA Twigs, David Byrne and Nine Inch Nails among others.

Daniel Lopatin

Uncut Gems

Sortie le 13 décembre 2019

Warp

Daniel Lopatin revient en tant que compositeur pour le nouveau film de Josh et Benny Safdie, Uncut Gems, dont la bande originale sortira le 13 décembre sur le label Warp Records le jour même de la sortie par A24 du film dans les salles américaines. Le film met en vedette Adam Sandler, le joueur de NBA Kevin Garnett, Lakeith Stanfield, Irina Mendel, Abel « The Weeknd » Tesfaye, et Julia Fox. Il a été récemment projeté aux festivals du cinéma de Telluride, Toronto et New York et fut accueilli avec grand enthousiame tant par les critiques que le public présent. L’hypnotique thriller policier suit Howard Ratner de Sandler, un arnaqueur charismatique toujours à l’affût du prochain gros coup, sur une odyssée tordue à la poursuite de l’aubaine de toute une vie.

Daniel Lopatin (Oneohtrix Point Never) et les frères Safdie ont développé au fil des années un lien étroit grâce à leur amour commun pour les films de genre culte et la musique. Comme Josh Safdie l’a récemment dit dans une interview accordée à Variety : « J’étais un fan de sa musique… ses albums sont très conceptuels, et il créait pour ainsi dire des compositions pour des films qui n’existent pas. Quand nous nous sommes rencontrés sur Good Time, après avoir vu la façon dont nous utilisons beaucoup de Debussy dans notre film précédent, il s’est dit : « Oh, allons plus loin ensemble », et nous sommes devenus des amis très proches ».

Daniel Lopatin est un musicien, compositeur et producteur nominé au Mercury Prize, basé à Brooklyn, qui enregistre et se produit également sous le nom Oneohtrix Point Never. Daniel a sorti de nombreux albums encensés par la critique, dont son plus récent Age Of (2018, Warp Records). En 2018, il a créé MYRIAD, un concert multimédia présenté pour la première fois au Park Avenue Armory (New York), suivi d’autres concerts à guichets fermés dans des salles prestigieuses du monde entier dont The Barbican, Londres et le Walt Disney Concert Hall, Los Angeles.

Ses musiques de film originales comprennent Uncut Gems (2019) et Good Time (2017) de Josh et Benny Safdie, pour lesquels il a reçu le prix de la meilleure bande sonore au Festival de Cannes 2017, et Partisan (2015) de Ariel Kleiman. Ses autres œuvres cinématographiques comprennent des contributions à The Mountain de Rick Alverson (2019) et à The Bling Ring de Sofia Coppola (2013).

Lopatin a été commissionné et a exposé pour Sadie Coles HQ, Londres (2019), The Park Avenue Armory, New York (2018), Frieze Projects New York (2017) ; Hammer Museum, Los Angeles (2016) ; Holland Festival (2014) ; Tate Britain, Londres  et MoMA PS1, New York (2013) ; Hirshhorn Museum and Sculpture Garden, Washington, DC ; Saatchi & Saatchi, Londres (2012) ; et The Museum of Modern Art, New York (2011). Il a collaboré avec de nombreux artistes dont James Blake, Ishmael Butler, Kelsey Lu, Iggy Pop et a produit pour Anohni, FKA Twigs, David Byrne et Nine Inch Nails.