Stats

Other People's Lives

Out February 15th 2019

Memphis Industries

“If there was a mission, then it was to create something like absurd office funk,” says Stats’ Ed Seed, recalling the birth of his band.

 

He was working a series of banal London office jobs, but rather than switch off or despair, Seed used this conventionally sterile backdrop for creative inspiration. “It was about taking things that are considered boring or are overlooked,” he says. “If you stare at anything long enough, it becomes weird.”

 

Staring into the infinite oddness of office life was interrupted when Seed “fluked” his way into La Roux’s band – which itself proved a further inspiration for the evolution of Stats. “I’d always been in scrappy indie bands,” he recalls. “Then I met Elly and her crew and thought ‘wow’. This kind of pop music, I always thought it only happened over in Hammersmith, you had to have tens of thousands of pounds and a major label. But I realised you didn’t need a huge budget to make something more stylish than your average band.”

 

This was a turning point for Seed, recognising he could create his own contemporary version of DIY art pop. “That gave me confidence,” he reflects. “I wanted Stats to be quite theatrical. I wanted it to be strangely glamorous, in a Roxy Music or Pet Shop Boys sort of way. Something that’s glamorous and quite silly. Those bands are very serious about being very silly.”

 

Stats’ debut Where is the Money? EP was self-released and praised by the likes of The Guardian as “strangely joyous” and “purveying a fine line in art-funk and synth-disco.” But now Seed had regular work as a side man, and was soon setting off round the world playing in Dua Lipa’s band, from her tiny first shows to her stratospheric rise in 2017.

 

Stats were always working, though, and material kept coming and the band developing. On Valentine’s Day 2017, the full live band (John Barrett -drums, Stu Barter – bass, Duncan Brown – guitar, Nicole Robson – keyboards, Iso Waller-Bridge – keyboards) seized a gap in Dua’s schedule to hold a two-day session at RAK Studios in London, recording the unstructured live jams that would form the raw musical material of Other People’s Lives. The aim was to ditch structure and embrace spontaneity. “This way you can capture the moment of inspiration,” Seed says. “The special energy of six people losing themselves in what they’re doing, and somehow synchronising into something none of them could have planned.”

 

The two days produced about twenty songs, including singles ‘Rhythm Of The Heart’ and ‘I Am An Animal’, strutting funk-tinged pieces of electro-pop loved by the likes of Elton John and Lauren Laverne. ‘Animal’ captures, according to Seed, a moment of “the domestic sublime. Catching yourself for a minute – naked, in the middle of the night – and being hit by the sheer unlikeliness of it all. Love is returning you to your physical body, and transforming your senses, so everyday life is full of wonders, as it is to a child.”

 

The psychedelic experience of becoming a parent is palpable throughout the record. Seed recorded his yet unborn son’s heartbeat, which was blended into the aptly titled ‘Rhythm of the Heart’. Yet if this is an album that explores a newfound sense of love, happiness, domesticity and routine (Seed quit pop touring to look after the baby), it does it in a way that’s fitting for the dance floor. Much like Talking Heads, it captures the oblique or observes the ordinary and sends it rocketing into a dance-inducing pop song. ‘Lose It’ may be about “life as story, as habit, as accumulation, as obligations – piling up like laundry or landfill.” Yet musically it is radiant with shimmering synth lines, glistening melodies and a skipping beat that, when combined, makes the everyday seem euphoric. Or the electronic stomp of ‘Raft’ is about how being in control is overrated, as it loses itself in a moment of pop bliss that feels both escapist and sobering in its groove. The fidgety electro funk of ‘There is a Story I Tell About My Life’ sees someone’s sense of self break down, while the pristine pop of ‘The Family Business’ follows a wedding fight – when the story a family tells about itself can no longer hold.

 

Ultimately, Other People’s Lives is about investigating the gaps in the stories we tell about our lives. Seed says: “This album is about recognising that my life story is full of holes. The world encourages me to experience my life as a narrative: a story in which I am the lead character, going on a journey, moving towards the discovery and realisation of an authentic self. Other people’s lives are presented to me as coherent, relatable stories, full of passion and travel and wonder. But my story makes no sense: it is full of contradictions and formless subplots, and I barely feel like the same actor from one day to the next – let alone find any meaning in it.”

 

However, filling those gaps or providing some kind of answer based around personal discovery is not something that interests him. “I’m pretty skeptical about the personal story,” he says. “I don’t feel like I am a character on this record, I feel like in each song I’m exploring something based on a personal experience but none of it adds up to a unified character. Songs, like emotions, don’t reflect how you feel all the time. I never expected this story to make sense and it doesn’t. I’m happy not to look for answers in things and to accept ambiguity and complexity.”

 

What does make sense however, is how it sounds. Other People’s Lives is bursting with life. In many ways this is a time-stamp of a record, something that captures the now, the fleeting, the fickle and the forgotten – like that perfect moment lost on the dance floor – yet it presents it in a musical way that avoids being trapped to a time and place. It ricochets between 1970s art rock, 80s synth grooves, cosmic disco and futuristic pop. “If you set out to try and write something universal, it risks being generic – and if you set out to write something timeless, it will definitely date.”

 

But this record does have some quality of timelessness, precisely because it is a snapshot of life, presented honestly and experimentally via the all-encompassing prism of pop music. “For me a lot of things that fundamentally change you – the things that have fundamental meaning – are things that happen in a split second,” says Seed. “Moments when you realise the reality or the gravity of something, like realising you’re in love, or some sense of the infinite while you’re doing the washing up, or the moment it hits you when someone has died. I don’t find much meaning in the narrative self, the life story that is performed like a personal brand. I find meaning exactly when I lose my Self, in the moments it dissolves into unity with those other people and their lives: lying in bed with the person I love, dancing, drinking, reading, caring for the baby, standing in a stadium crowd – and playing music in this band.”

Stats

Other People's Lives

Sortie le 15 février 2019

Memphis Industries

 »Si on avait eu une mission, ç’aurait été de créer quelque chose comme un absurde funk de bureau », se souvient Ed Seed à propos de la création de son groupe.

 

A l’époque Ed enchaîne les boulots de bureau à Londres, mais plutôt que d’arrêter ou de déprimer, il se sert de cet environnement de travail conventionnel et stérile comme inspiration pour ses créations.  »Le but était d’utiliser ces choses ennuyeuses ou sans intérêt », explique-t-il.  »Si l’on observe quelque chose assez longtemps, ça devient bizarre. »

 

Son observation de l’infinie bizarrerie de la vie de bureau s’interrompt lorsque Seed rejoint par hasard le groupe live de La Roux – ce qui a également joué un rôle d’inspiration pour l’évolution de Stats.  »J’avais toujours été dans des groupes indé un peu brouillons. Puis j’ai rencontré Elly et son équipe et je me suis dit “Wow”. Ce genre de musique pop, je m’étais toujours dit que ça n’arrivait qu’à Hammersmith, avec des centaines de milliers de livres et un gros label. Mais je me suis rendu compte qu’on n’avait pas besoin d’un gros budget pour faire des choses plus classes qu’un groupe moyen. »

 

Ed Seed envisage alors les choses différemment, il s’aperçoit qu’il peut créer sa propre version contemporaine de l’art pop DIY.  »Ça m’a donné confiance. Je voulais que Stats soit un groupe théâtral. Je voulais qu’il soit étrangement glamour, dans le style de Roxy Music ou Pet Shop Boys. Un truc glamour et un peu fou. Ces groupes mettent beaucoup de sérieux à être très fous. »

 

Le premier EP de Stats, Where is the Money, que le groupe sort lui-même, est acclamé par la critique, par exemple The Guardian qui le qualifie d’ « étrangement joyeux » et « alliant très bien l’art funk au synth disco ». A présent Seed joue régulièrement les bras droits, et part bientôt faire le tour du monde en jouant dans le groupe de Dua Lipa, de ses tout petits spectacles à son explosion en 2017.

 

Stats passent leur temps à travailler, de nouvelles idées se développent, le groupe évolue. En 2017, le jour de la Saint-Valentin, le groupe live au complet – John Barrett (batterie), Stu Barter (basse), Duncan Brown (guitare), Nicole Robson (claviers), Iso Waller-Bridge (claviers) – trouve un créneau dans le planning de Dua Lipa pour réserver deux jours aux studios RAK de Londres afin d’enregistrer des sessions live improvisées destinées à constituer une base brute pour l’album à venir Other People’s Lives. L’objectif est de laisser tomber la structure et de privilégier la spontanéité. « De cette façon on peut capturer les moments d’inspiration. L’énergie particulière de six personnes qui s’abandonnent totalement à ce qu’elles font, et qui au bout du compte se synchronisent pour obtenir quelque chose qu’aucune d’elles n’aurait pu prévoir. »

 

En deux jours, environ vingt chansons sont nées, dont les singles « Rythm of the Heart » et « I am an Animal », deux titres électro-pop (comme celle d’Elton John ou Lauren Laverne) empreints de funk. « I am an Animal » parle, selon Seed, d’un moment du « sublime intérieur. Réfléchir un instant – nu, en pleine nuit – et se sentir submergé par la pure invraisemblance de tout le reste. L’amour vous ramène à votre corps physique, altère vos sens, et la vie est un éternel émerveillement, comme elle l’est pour un enfant ».

 

L’expérience psychédélique que représente le fait de devenir parent se ressent tout au long de l’album. Seed a enregistré les battements de cœur de son enfant dans le ventre de sa mère et les a ajoutés sur le très approprié « Rythm of the Heart ». Cet album explore une nouvelle forme d’amour, de bonheur, de vie domestique et d’habitudes (Seed a interrompu ses tournées pour s’occuper de son bébé), et il l’explore d’une façon qui se prête au dancefloor. A l’instar de Talking Heads, il s’intéresse à l’ordinaire et le propulse dans une chanson pop très dansante. « Lose it » peut parler de « la vie comme une histoire, une habitude, une accumulation, des obligations, qui s’empilent comme du linge ou des déchets ». Musicalement il rayonne grâce à ses lignes de synthé et ses mélodies scintillantes, ses beats sautillants, qui, combinés, rendent le quotidien euphorique. Le coup de pied électronique de « Raft » annonce que garder le contrôle n’est plus à la mode, et le titre s’abandonne dans un moment de pop empreint d’évasion et d’apaisement dans son groove. L’électro funk agité de « There is a Story I Tell about My Life » parle d’une image de soi brisée, tandis que la pop de « The Family Business » met en scène une bagarre lors d’un mariage, ou quand l’histoire qu’une famille se raconte ne tient plus la route.

 

Au bout du compte, Other People’s Lives parle de l’exploration des lacunes dans les histoires qu’on se raconte sur nos vies. Seed dit : « Cet album me permet de reconnaître que ma vie est pleine de blancs. Le monde m’encourage à vivre ma vie comme un récit – une histoire dont je suis le héros, qui effectue un voyage, qui s’avance vers la découverte et l’accomplissement d’un soi authentique. Les vies des autres sont pour moi des histoires cohérentes, pertinentes, pleines de passions, de voyages, de merveilles. Mais mon histoire à moi n’a aucun sens : elle est pleine de contradictions et de digressions tordues, et j’ai à peine l’impression d’être le même héros d’un jour à l’autre, encore moins de trouver un sens à tout ça. »

 

Remplir ces blancs ou trouver une sorte de réponse à la suite d’une découverte personnelle n’est pas ce qui intéresse Seed. « Je suis plutôt sceptique en termes d’histoire personnelle. Je n’ai pas l’impression d’être un personnage sur cet album, j’ai l’impression que dans chaque chanson j’explore quelque chose sur la base d’une expérience personnelle, mais rien n’aboutit à un personnage homogène. Les chansons, comme les émotions, ne reflètent pas toujours ce qu’on ressent. Je ne m’attendais pas à ce que cette histoire ait un sens, et elle n’en a pas. Je suis heureux de ne pas chercher de réponses dans les choses, et d’accepter l’ambiguïté et la complexité. »

 

Si quelque chose a un sens, c’est bien le son de l’album. Other People’s Lives explose de vie. Ce disque est comme un repère temporel, quelque chose qui capture le moment présent, le moment fugace, le moment inconstant et le moment oublié, et pourtant ce repère est représenté musicalement d’une façon qui n’appartient à aucune période, aucun lieu. Il rebondit entre l’art rock des années 1970, les grooves synthétiques des années 1980, le cosmic disco et la pop futuriste. « Si on essaie d’écrire un truc universel, on risque de taper dans le générique, tandis que si on essaie d’écrire un truc intemporel, il perdurera. »

 

Cet album a une sorte d’intemporalité, justement parce qu’il représente un instantané de la vie, proposé avec sincérité et avec une dimension expérimentale au travers du prisme de la pop. « Pour moi, beaucoup de choses qui nous changent fondamentalement – les choses qui ont une signification fondamentale – se passent en l’espace d’une seconde. Ces moments où l’on s’aperçoit de la réalité ou de la gravité de quelque chose, comme quand on se rend compte qu’on est amoureux, ou ce moment où la mort de quelqu’un nous frappe. Je ne trouve du sens que lorsque je m’abandonne, dans ces moments où tout se désagrège pour former une unité avec d’autres personnes et leurs vies : être allongé avec la personne que j’aime, danser, boire, lire, m’occuper de mon enfant, être dans la foule d’un stade – et jouer de la musique avec mon groupe. »