Pill

Soft Hell

Out September 28th 2018

Mexican Summer

Soft Hell, Pill’s second full-length album, is a raucous, splintering dispatch from New York City, animated by the madcap ingenuity of a foursome finding a palpable sense of joy and play in expressions of caustic, black humor. Like the contradiction of the album title, which references our acceptance of everyday miseries, it’s a slew of dichotomies, a frenzied cutup. It’s bleeding saxophone and lustrous feedback sounding somehow pastoral, and winking hooks subtly infused with venom.

 

Pill’s lyrics are severe and funny, cryptic and straightforward, but never didactic. They reliably interrogate power. Vocalist and bassist Veronica Torres, a poet and visual artist, has cited as influences J .P. ‘The Big Bopper’ Richardson and Ian Svenonius, apt references for her wildly expressive range. Atop the clattering rush of opener “A.I.Y.M.” she uses an ambiguous narrator to complicate gendered stereotypes, while “Fruit,” a coolly pulsing vamp, explores the paralysis of political anxiety. “What am I allowed to create or destroy?” she asks in “Power Abuser,” highlighting the inanity of needing to ask for permission.

 

Pill resent complacency, whether in political or creative senses. “For me this band’s about being provocative with sound,” said saxophonist Benjamin Jaffe. Drummer Andrew Spaulding said the album title, Soft Hell, critiques the “work-to-play” cliché of New York life, with its breakneck, competitive pursuit of comfort. Torres added that it evokes sexual bondage, describing Soft Hell as a reference to the cyclical monotony of humans harming one another.

 

The title’s punchy syllables also connect to the overall album theme of headline culture, wherein information is rapidly stripped of context and disseminated like fleeting propaganda. But they’re not interested in “soapbox, manifesto music,” emphasized Spaulding. “Calling this political music in 2018 is basically redundant.”

 

The expansive, charred psychedelia of Pill’s early sound — textured by homemade, circuit-bent instruments and custom effects by guitarist Jon Campolo’s brother Nick — has morphed into something more compact and mischievous but no less evocative. It’s also the most hook-laden, melodic statement in the band’s catalog to date.

 

Soft Hell songs such as “Plastic” evince a pointed yet askew sort of humor that’s rare among their peers. Similarly, the album cover curiously couples a regal, piano-playing dog and a nuclear mushroom; it’s by a teenage friend of Spaulding’s who returned from military service in Afghanistan and foundedWar Paints, which promotes artwork by veterans.

 

Steeped in Brooklyn DIY haunts such as Silent Barn and Palisades, Pill debuted in 2015 with an eponymous cassette on Dull Tools, the label run by friends Chris Pickering (Future Punx) and Andrew Savage (Parquet Courts), whose Fisher-Price toy guitars (named “Sheila 1” and “Sheila 2”) appear on early recordings. Next came a 7” for Mexican Summer, featuring songs commissioned for a friend’s art film (the music plays when the gates of hell open), and the acclaimed Convenience LP, also for Mexican Summer.

 

The first time the four members of Pill got together in the same room, they exchanged sounds before words; Jaffe walked in playing saxophone, prompting Campolo to respond on guitar. Soft Hell, like its predecessor Convenience, carries forward this free-associative ensemble feel, with the players finding room for intuitive subtleties and melodic interplay even in the most skeletally spare compositions. They play post-punk, maybe no wave, mostly insofar as the terms are far-reaching creative passports.

Pill

Soft Hell

Sortie le 28 septembre 2018

Mexican Summer

Soft Hell, deuxième album de Pill, est une missive bruyante et explosive venue tout droit de New York, animée par la folle ingéniosité de quatre personnes capables de trouver joie et amusement évidents dans l’humour noir et caustique. A l’image du titre de l’album, qui fait référence à notre acceptation des malheurs de la vie quotidienne, c’est un tas de dichotomies, une frénésie rigolote. Le saxophone, les larsens lustrés, aux accents pastoraux, et les crochets au venin subtil s’écoulent.

 

Les paroles de Pill sont graves et drôles, énigmatiques et directes, mais jamais didactiques. La chanteuse et bassiste Veronica Torres, poète et artiste visuelle, a cité comme influences Jiles Perry « The Big Bopper » Richardson et Ian Svenonius, des références qui conviennent parfaitement à son très large éventail expressif. Sur le fracassant titre d’ouverture « A.I.Y.M. », elle utilise un narrateur ambigu afin de brouiller les stéréotypes de genre, tandis que « Fruit », improvisation froide, explore la paralysie de l’angoisse politique. « Que suis-je autorisée à créer ou détruire ? », demande-t-elle dans « Power Abuser », soulignant combien il est stupide de devoir demander la permission.

 

Pill méprisent l’autosatisfaction, en politique comme en création. « Pour moi, ce groupe est provoquant par le son », explique le saxophoniste Benjamin Jaffe. Le batteur Andrew Spaulding a dit que le titre de l’album, Soft Hell, critiquait le cliché « work-to-play » de la vie new-yorkaise, avec son insensée et compétitive quête du confort. Torres a ajouté qu’il évoquait le bondage, décrivant « Soft Hell » comme une référence à la monotonie cyclique des humains se blessant les uns les autres.

 

Le titre est aussi en lien direct avec la thématique globale de l’album, à savoir la culture des gros titres, qui fait que l’information est tout de suite vidée de tout contexte et se répand rapidement comme de la propagande. Mais Pill ne veulent pas faire de leur musique une « tribune ou un manifeste », comme le souligne Spaulding. « Qualifier cette musique de politique en 2018 est tout simplement redondant. »

 

Le psychédélisme expansif et noirci du son initial de Pill – texturé par les instruments faits maison et les effets customisés du frère du guitariste Jon Campolo, Nick –, a pris la forme de quelque chose de plus dense, plus espiègle, tout en restant évocateur. C’est aussi le travail le plus mélodique du groupe, avec de nombreuses accroches.

 

Les chansons de Soft Hell comme « Plastic » montrent une sorte d’humour précis mais décalé que l’on trouve rarement chez leurs pairs. De la même façon, la couverture de l’album associe un chien majestueux jouant du piano et un nuage d’explosion atomique en forme de champignon. Cette illustration est l’œuvre d’un ami d’enfance de Spaulding, qui à son retour de service militaire en Afghanistan a fondé War Paints, association dédiée à la promotion de créations artistiques de vétérans.

 

Pill ont débuté en 2015 avec la sortie d’une cassette éponyme sur Dull Tools, label dirigé par des amis, Chris Pickering (Future Punx) et Andrew Savage (Parquet Courts), dont les guitares pour enfants Fisher-Price (baptisées « Sheila 1 » et « Sheila 2 ») apparaissent sur les premiers enregistrements. Pill ont ensuite sorti un 7 » pour Mexican Summer, avec des chansons commandées pour le film d’art d’un ami (la musique couvre l’ouverture des portes de l’enfer), puis le très apprécié LP Convenience, également pour Mexican Summer.

 

La première fois que les quatre membres de Pill se sont retrouvés dans la même pièce, ils ont communiqué par des sons, et non la parole ; Jaffe est entré en jouant du saxophone, Campolo a immédiatement répondu avec sa guitare. Soft Hell, à l’instar de son prédécesseur Convenience, est chargé de ce sentiment de libre-association, où les musiciens trouvent toujours une place pour les subtilités intuitives et les interactions mélodiques, même dans les compositions les plus dépouillées. Ils jouent du post-punk, peut-être du no wave, en tout cas presque toujours en repoussant les limites de la création.