Malihini

Hopefully, Again

Out March 1st 2019

Memphis Industries

Lo-fi pop duo Malihini will release their debut album ‘Hopefully, Again‘ through Memphis Industries on 1st March 2019. Produced by Richard Formby (Wild Beasts, Ghostpoet, Darkstar), ‘Hopefully, Again‘ was written in Sicily and recorded at the remote Giant Wafer Studios in Wales. Malihini, aka Rome-based couple Giampaolo Speziale and Federica Caiozzo, have unveiled the first single to be taken from the album.

 

Their name may mean ‘newcomers’ in Hawaiian, but Malihini, aka Rome-based duo Giampaolo Speziale and Federica Caiozzo, deal exclusively in the music of lived experience and time-honed emotional intelligence, their disarming musical universe never less than distinctive, yet resonating with a confessional, modern European pop sophistication of a kind elsewhere purveyed by the likes of Charlotte Gainsbourg, Jose Gonzalez and Our Broken Garden. Listening to the ten co-written songs that grace Malihini’s exquisite debut longplayer, Hopefully, Again, can sometimes feel like eavesdropping on a couple’s intimate emotional dialogues, such is the ingenuous honesty of the duo’s writing. Yet combined with their minimal, yet opulently textured arrangements (“classic songwriting matched with pared-down electronics”, according to Clash), crammed with subtle melodic hooks and an embarrassment of earworm choruses, they transform the personal into the universal with a delightfully unforced eloquence.

 

The notion of art imitating life is mirrored by Malihini’s back story, which reads like the screenplay to a Wim Wenders road movie – the couple’s first encounter occurring at 5am one morning in 2015, when Speziale, driving back to Rome, picked up a distraught, hitchhiking Caiozzo. “I took her home – she was having a hard time with her ex-boyfriend”, he recalls, matter-of-factly. “I didn’t see her again for two or three months, but then we met by chance at a concert. We sort of avoided each other at first… eventually we spoke and later we went back to her house. We’ve been together ever since”. Caiozzo has described meeting Speziale as “a moment of surrender”. The idea of working artistically together took time to germinate, however. “I’ve always been drawn to male musicians and singers”, admits Caiozzo, frankly, “but we decided not to play or sing together at all at first. Then we took this trip through Italy, Germany and Poland and eventually we thought, ‘Why not? So we started writing ideas for songs and ended up playing shows together in small bars along the way”.

 

The duo’s individual, pre-Malihini career stories reinforce the romantic, cinematic theme. Caiozzo, born in Sicily to Italian and Polish parents, moved to Rome in 2009 to study music, hone her distinctively smoky singing voice and, ultimately, enjoy a successful solo career under the name Thony. This lead to an invitation from noted director Paolo Virzì to contribute to the soundtrack to his 2012 film ‘Tutti i santi giorni’. Obviously impressed, the director duly cast Caiozzo in the movie’s lead role. Roman Speziale also has experience in film and TV, both as an actor and soundtrack composer, and, indeed, the couple’s meeting seems to have more than a dash of artistic kismet about it.

 

The couple began to steer destiny more assiduously in 2016, putting their previous musical aliases to bed, launching Malihini and signing to esteemed London imprint Memphis Industries. They debuted with a hypnotic single, ‘Miss’, towards the end of that year, with another, ‘Wait’, following in early summer 2017, helping arouse considerable blogosphere interest. An EP, ‘Lose Everything’, was released in September. Designed, according to Speziale, to “capture that moment when you first start writing together, when you make yourself vulnerable to someone else”, tracks were recorded in the south London house of an Egyptologist, no less, with oversight and synths from Wild Beasts/Darkstar/Ghostpoets producer Richard Formby. After debuting on Loud and Quiet, the EP was soon championed by the likes of Stereogum and The Line of Best Fit, all of which, alongside headline shows in London and an opening slot for Warpaint, helped usher Malihini toward a bigger spotlight.

 

The couple began to steer destiny more assiduously in 2016, putting their previous musical aliases to bed, launching Malihini and signing to esteemed London imprint Memphis Industries. They debuted with a hypnotic single, ‘Waiting’, towards the end of that year, with another, ‘Miss’, following in early summer 2017, helping arouse considerable blogosphere interest. An EP, Lose Everything, was released in September.

 

That inexorable process continues apace with the release of debut album Hopefully, Again. Swapping Camberwell for Mid Wales, specifically the remote Giant Wafer studio in Powys (“it was just us and a few sheep and chickens”, recalls Speziale), the album was recorded quickly, with the duo playing most of the instruments live, abetted once again by producer Richard Formby and long-term drumming amico Alberto Paone. Writing had begun earlier in the year during an extended retreat on the Aeolian island of Vulcano, off the coast of Sicily. Images and atmospheres of the sea and ‘blueness’ duly permeate the album’s leanly arranged songs. “We always wanted to have just a few instruments,” says Speziale, explaining Hopefully, Again’s pared-back palette. “We write using only a guitar, a Casiotone keyboard, a toy synth and a drum machine. We’d start with loops and then just improvise melodies over the top, not listening back for three or four hours”. The lyrics would come later. “Some of the songs definitely take inspiration from personal events in our life, but sometimes I imagine things from someone else’s perspective”, says Speziale, reflecting on Malihini’s apparently candid, close-up-and-personal narratives.

 

Whether the songs work as de facto relationship counselling or not, they remain consistently intriguing and irrefutably alluring, always navigating deftly between emotional light and shade. The soulful, superficially pretty ‘Hopefully Again’ is a case in point: its languid drums and woozy electric guitar hook-line ushering in a sort of conversation between circling lovers – Caiozzo taking the first verse, Speziale the second, the two combining for the redemptive and addictive “Love is coming back” chorus line. “It’s about when you’re first really into one another”, explains Speziale. “When you try to be someone, as seen through the eyes of the other”. Likewise, the ensuing ‘Delusional Boy’, with its sunlit, glass-half-full fantasy optimism (capturing a “mind-escaping feeling”, according to Caiozzo), upbeat drums and almost African guitar figure, is neatly undercut by its recurring vocal refrain, “Delusional Boy/Delusional Girl” – the downbeat rejoinder conveyed with a typically euphonious duo vocal melody.

 

The album closes with ‘Song #1’, so named as it was the first composition the couple ever embarked on together during their odyssey through Germany. A slow-building ballad that eventually takes flight on brushed guitar chords and bell-like glockenspiels, it comes to a brief but glorious, almost gospel-like climax, the two vocalists at their most soaring and enmeshed delivering what is tantamount to a hymn to vulnerability (“All of our terror at sea/And a breakable, breakable me”). It’s an apt place to close, Malihini at once embodying the fragility of ‘newcomers’ yet doing so with the élan, confidence and simpatico synergy of artists-cum-lovers who have found their perfect idiom.

 

Keep following this road movie, it’s already compelling and it’s only just begun.

Malihini

Hopefully, Again

Sortie le 1er mars 2019

Memphis Industries

Le duo pop lo-fi Malihini sortira son premier album, Hopefully, Again, le 1er mars 2019 sur Memphis Industries. Cet album a été produit par Richard Formby (Wild Beasts, Ghostpoet, Darkstar), écrit en Sicile et enregistré aux studios Giant Wafer au pays de Galles.

 

Le nom « Malihini » signifie « nouveaux venus » ou « novices » en hawaïen, néanmoins l’approche musicale du groupe évolue autour des expériences vécues et d’une intelligence émotionnelle acquise avec le temps. Leur univers musical désarmant est très distinctif, et résonne pourtant avec la sophistication d’une pop européenne moderne, comme celle de Charlotte Gainsbourg, Jose Gonzales et Our Broken Garden. En écoutant les dix chansons co-écrites qui constituent l’exquis Hopefully, Again, on peut parfois avoir la sensation d’assister aux dialogues émotionnels intimes d’un couple, ce qui représente l’innocente sincérité de l’écriture du duo. En utilisant des arrangements texturés à la fois riches et minimaux (« Une composition classique alliée à une électronique réduite », selon Clash), de subtiles accroches mélodiques et moult refrains qui restent dans la tête, Malihini transforme le personnel en universel en faisant preuve d’une éloquence délicieusement naturelle.

 

La notion de l’art imitant la vie se reflète dans l’histoire de Malihini, qui ressemble au scénario d’un road-movie de Wim Wenders. Le couple s’est rencontré en 2015, Speziale rentrait à Rome en voiture et a pris une Caiozzo angoissée en stop à 5 heures du matin. « Je l’ai ramenée chez elle, elle avait de gros problèmes avec son ex-petit ami », se souvient Speziale. « Je ne l’ai revue que deux ou trois mois après, par hasard, à un concert. Au début on s’est un peu évités… et puis on a fini par se parler pour finalement rentrer ensemble chez elle plus tard. On ne s’est pas quittés depuis. » Caiozzo qualifie le moment de sa rencontre avec Speziale de « moment d’abandon ». L’idée de travailler ensemble, quant à elle, a mis du temps à germer. « J’ai toujours été attirée par les musiciens et les chanteurs », raconte Caiozzo en toute franchise, « mais nous avions décidé dès le départ de ne pas jouer ou chanter ensemble. Puis nous sommes partis en voyage en Italie, en Allemagne et en Pologne et on a fini par se dire “Pourquoi pas ?”. On a donc commencé à écrire des idées de chansons et on a joué ensemble dans des petits bars. »

 

Le parcours individuel des deux membres de Malihini renforce le thème cinématique et romantique. Caiozzo est née en Sicile, de parents italien et polonais. Elle emménage à Rome en 2009 pour étudier la musique, travaille sa voix rauque caractéristique, puis débute une bonne carrière solo sous le nom de Thony. Son succès lui vaut d’être contactée par le réalisateur Paolo Virzì pour participer à la bande originale de son film, Tutti i tanti giorni, en 2012. Impressionné par son travail, Virzì lui confie même le premier rôle de son film. Le Romain Speziale a également fréquenté les plateaux de tournage pour le cinéma et la télé, à la fois comme acteur et comme compositeur de bande originale. Ces deux-là étaient faits pour se rencontrer.

 

Le couple commence à construire son avenir en 2016, en se consacrant exclusivement à Malihini. Il signe avec l’estimé label Memphis Industries, basé à Londres. La première sortie est un single hypnotique, « Miss », à la fin de l’année, puis un autre, « Wait », au printemps 2017, suscitant grandement l’intérêt de la blogosphère. Un EP, « Lose Everything », sort ensuite en septembre ; construit, selon Speziale, pour « capturer ce moment où on écrit pour la première fois ensemble, où on offre sa vulnérabilité à quelqu’un d’autre ». Les titres ont été enregistrés dans la maison d’un égyptologue, dans le sud de Londres, sous la supervision du producteur Richard Formby. D’abord promu par Loud and Quiet, l’EP est vite mis en avant par d’autres médias comme Stereogum et The Line of Best Fit. Malihini se fait connaître également grâce à des concerts en tête d’affiche et une première partie pour Warpaint.

 

La machine étant lancée, le processus continue avec la sortie du premier album Hopefully, Again. Les enregistrements se déroulent cette fois aux studios Giant Wafer dans la région du Powys, au pays de Galles (« Juste nous et quelques moutons et poulets », se souvient Speziale). L’album est enregistré rapidement, Speziale et Caiozzo jouant la plupart des instruments live, aidés une nouvelle fois par Richard Formby et leur ami batteur de longue date Alberto Paone. L’écriture avait eu lieu plus tôt dans l’année au cours d’une longue retraite sur l’île de Vulcano, dans l’archipel des Eoliennes, au large de la Sicile. Des images, des atmosphères autour de la mer et de son bleu habitent logiquement les chansons de l’album. Speziale explique : « Nous avons toujours voulu un nombre restreint d’instruments. Nous écrivons en nous accompagnant uniquement d’une guitare, d’un clavier Casiotone, d’un synthétiseur pour enfant et d’une boîte à rythmes. Nous commençons généralement par des boucles, ensuite nous improvisons des mélodies par-dessus, puis nous les laissons reposer pendant trois ou quatre heures. » Les paroles viennent plus tard. « Certaines des chansons s’inspirent d’événements personnels qui se sont produits dans notre vie, mais il arrive que j’imagine des choses du point de vue de quelqu’un d’autre », raconte Speziale à propos des récits en apparence naïfs et très personnels de Malihini.

 

Que les chansons soient personnelles ou non, elles demeurent intrigantes et terriblement séduisantes, elles naviguent toujours habilement entre lumière et ténèbres émotionnelles. La preuve avec le title track « Hopefully, Again » : ses percussions langoureuses et sa ligne de guitare électrique murmurent comme dans une sorte de conversation entre deux amants – Caiozzo assure le premier couplet, Speziale le deuxième, puis les deux chanteurs unissent leurs voix sur le refrain entêtant « Love is Coming Back ». « Ca parle du moment où on se plaît vraiment l’un et l’autre. Quand on essaie d’être quelqu’un dans le regard de l’autre. » Le titre suivant, « Delusional Boy », avec un optimisme rayonnant (« un sentiment d’évasion de l’esprit », selon Caiozzo), des beats soutenus et une guitare presque africaine, bénéficie également d’un refrain, « Delusional Boy/Delusional Girl », bercé par une mélodie vocale euphonique.

 

L’album se termine avec « Song #1 », dont le nom pourrait évoquer une première composition à quatre mains née au cours de leur périple en Allemagne. Une ballade qui se construit lentement pour finalement s’envoler sur des accords de guitare brossés et des glockenspiels. Le titre se termine dans une apothéose proche du gospel, les deux voix jaillissent et s’entremêlent telle une ode à la vulnérabilité (« All of our terror at sea/And a breakable, breakable me »). Une fin parfaite pour Malihini qui représentent la fragilité des « nouveaux venus », avec l’élan, l’assurance et la synergie de deux artistes amoureux qui ont trouvé leur parfait langage.

 

Le road-movie continue, ce n’est encore que le début mais il nous a déjà envoûtés.