Liraz

Naz

Out October 19th 2018

Dead Sea Recordings

Taking cues from Iran’s fiery and defiant female musical icons like Googoosh and Ramesh, Liraz‘s debut album ‘Naz‘ reimagines their fighting spirit from the ‘70s. She sings in Farsi and the influences from those Persian forebears, where traditional Persian instruments were framed in a pop sensibility, are ever-present in an album dominated lyrically by the role of women in society and musically by the bounce of hip-hop and electronica with help from from Israeli producer Rejoicer.

 

Raised in Tel Aviv in Israel, her parents are from Iran yet political circumstances have meant that she’s never been able to visit. The imposed distance has stoked up an immense curiosity about its culture which underscores everything she does as an artist. She has a successful career as an actor in both Israel and Hollywood acting with the likes of Philip Seymour-Hoffman (A Late Quartet) and Naomi Watts (Fair Game), and has spent the past decade whilst on film set location, picking up Iranian music; a self-taught schooling that’s laid the foundations for this record.

 

Liraz is driven by the diverse assemblage of stories which make up her heritage and, by extension, the make-up of Iran. Her music has made her a beacon for a nascent movement around women’s rights – inside Iran and out. It was LA, around 2008, when she first heard music in a mould that pricked her preconceptions about the role of women in her parents’ home country. As she fondly recalls, it evoked a spirit she’d not previously encountered: bold and carefree, it hinted at a whole world – pre-dating Iran’s 1979 revolution – of female artistic freedom.

 

“Persians have these nice, polite manners of being like an Iranian woman,” she says. “You have to be good to your husband, good to your family, very polite… this is the only way I knew.” By way of illustrating her point, she refers to the career of legendary pop singer Googoosh. It was in her music that she first saw a public image of a female Iranian swaggering with confidence, opening her eyes to this dusted-over lineage of public female figures in Iran. But after the revolution, Googoosh was forced to stop singing, eventually leaving Iran so that she could keep singing outside her homeland. It’s a reflection of the newly-restricted role for female musicians in the revolution’s aftermath – and for female singers in particular, who are prohibited from performing solo for male audiences.

 

The role of women in society is ever present in her lyrics. In ‘Nozi Nozi’, for example, she prods at the idea of “noz”. It alludes to an Iranian archetype of a sweetly-smiling wife, subtly trying to wrest what she wants out of her husband. The music itself flips the cultural reference points at its core too: a repeated, Persian string refrain, building up intensity in tandem with Liraz’s vocals, is put in fresh light by a spartan, swaggering beat. Both sides collude to aid Liraz in poking fun at the stereotype, implying different moulds for Iranian woman to aspire to.

 

A key part of her music has been bringing the influence of her forebears in line with a contemporary perspective. It’s been 10 years since her interest in Iranian music was first sparked as her travels gave space for her to hunt for musical discoveries.

An elderly Iranian man in Tel Aviv, for example, whose record collection provided a font of new ideas. And a trip to film in Istanbul led her to meet an aspiring musician who’d left Tehran in pursuit of his career – they exchanged USB sticks too.

 

Several of the tracks are covers of Iranian artists, like ‘Hala Bavar’ which is a version of one of Googoosh’s songs. The lyrics ponder inner turmoil and how it relates to daily reality, while the music sets a tapping, melancholic backdrop, smoothed over by a gentle hum of ambient chords. Making explicit connections to those icons of Iran’s heritage, she sees it as an important tool in garnering attention from the world’s Iranian community.

 

It has been meeting her producer Rejoicer, also based in Tel Aviv, which has helped bring the ‘Naz’ project to life. Playing him the artists which were her reference points, and guiding him through Iran’s gamut of traditional instruments, the chemistry between them was immediately obvious: it’s made for the hypnotic, heavy-weighted style that gives her tracks a powerful directness.

Liraz

Naz

Sortie le 19 octobre 2018

Dead Sea Recordings

Reprenant les mots de féroces et provocatrices icônes musicales féminines iraniennes comme Googoosh et Ramesh, le premier album de Liraz, Naz, réinvente leur esprit combatif des années 1970. Elle chante en farsi, et les influences de ses ancêtres persans et de leurs instruments traditionnels à la sensibilité pop sont omniprésentes sur un album dont les paroles ciblent le rôle de la femme dans la société, un album dominé musicalement par le hip hop et l’électronique grâce à la collaboration du producteur israëlien Rejoicer.

 

Liraz a grandi à Tel-Aviv, en Israël. Ses parents sont iraniens, mais elle n’a jamais eu l’occasion de se rendre dans leur pays en raison des circonstances politiques. La distance imposée l’a rendue très curieuse vis-à-vis de cette culture, qui marque tout son travail artistique. Liraz a une carrière d’actrice à la fois en Israël et à Hollywood, elle a joué aux côtés de Philip Seymour Hoffman (A Late Quartet) et Naomi Watts (Fair Game). Pendant ces dix dernières années passées sur les plateaux de tournage, Liraz a appris seule la musique iranienne, les bases de ce nouvel album.

 

Liraz s’inspire des histoires qui ont jalonné son héritage. Sa musique a fait d’elle un emblème d’un mouvement naissant défendant les droits des femmes, en Iran et ailleurs. C’est à Los Angeles, en 1998, qu’elle a entendu pour la première fois une musique qui allait à l’encontre de ses idées préconçues sur le rôle de la femme dans le pays de ses parents. C’est avec émotion qu’elle se souvient de l’esprit encore inconnu invoqué par cette musique : audacieux et insouciant, il touchait tout un monde – avant la révolution iranienne de 1979 – de liberté artistique féminine.

 

« Les Persans voient la femme iranienne d’une manière élégante, agréable. Elle doit être bonne avec son mari, avec sa famille, être très polie… Je ne connaissais que cette vision », dit-elle. Liraz prend pour référence la carrière de la légendaire chanteuse pop Googoosh. C’est grâce à sa musique qu’elle a vu pour la première fois une femme iranienne s’affirmer, avec une grande confiance, et lui ouvrir les yeux sur cette vision poussiéreuse des personnalités publiques féminines en Iran. Mais après la révolution, son pays interdit à Googoosh toute représentation publique, et elle finit par le quitter afin de pouvoir continuer à chanter. C’est un reflet des nouvelles règles restrictives appliquées aux femmes musiciennes après la révolution – en particulier aux chanteuses qui n’ont pas le droit de se produire en solo devant un public masculin.

 

Le rôle de la femme dans la société est omniprésent dans ses paroles. Dans « Nozi Nozi », Liraz s’intéresse à l’idée de « noz ». Ce terme fait allusion à un archétype iranien d’une femme gentille et souriante, essayant subtilement de soutirer ce qu’elle veut à son mari. La musique elle-même se joue des points de référence culturels : un refrain répété aux cordes persanes, montant intensément au côté de la voix de Liraz, est sublimé par un beat arrogant. Liraz, via ses paroles et sa musique, se moque des stéréotypes, révélant de nouvelles formes inspirantes pour la femme iranienne.

 

L’influence de ses ancêtres unie à une perspective contemporaine est un élément clé de sa musique. Son intérêt pour la musique iranienne est né il y a dix ans, et ses voyages lui ont donné l’occasion de faire de nombreuses découvertes musicales. Par exemple la collection de disques d’un vieil homme iranien de Tel-Aviv, une vraie mine d’or de nouvelles idées. Un séjour à Istanbul pour un tournage l’a menée sur la route d’un musicien ambitieux qui avait quitté Téhéran pour lancer sa carrière – ils ont même échangé des clés USB.

 

Plusieurs titres sont des reprises d’artistes iraniens, comme « Hala Bavar », d’après l’une des chansons de Googoosh. Les paroles méditent sur les bouleversements intérieurs et la façon dont ils affectent la réalité quotidienne, tandis que la musique met en place une toile de fond mélancolique, battante, radoucie par un doux ronronnement de cordes ambient. Liraz, en revendiquant ses connexions avec les icônes de son héritage iranien, attire l’attention de la communauté iranienne dans le monde entier.

 

C’est la rencontre avec son producteur Rejoicer, qui vit à Tel-Aviv, qui a beaucoup aidé à la naissance du projet Naz. Liraz lui a fait écouter les artistes qu’elle avait choisis pour référence, puis l’a guidé dans la découverte de toute la gamme d’instruments traditionnels iraniens. L’alchimie a été évidente et immédiate : un style hypnotique, solide et lourd qui donne à ses morceaux un caractère direct très fort.