Konradsen

Saints and Sebastian Stories

Out October 25th 2019

Su Tissue

Konradsen, the duo of vocalist and pianist Jenny Marie Sabel and multi-instrumentalist Eirik Vildgren, trace their roots to the far north of Norway, where the black night of winter is backlit by the neon glow of the Northern Lights. It’s a fitting metaphor for the music the pair crafts – tradition meets innovation, and the natural world expressing its astral filament.

 

Inspired by the traditional songs and hymns Sabel sang with her family as a child, and the modern pop music she and Vildgren collectively admire—the work of Bon Iver, Sufjan Stevens, Frank Ocean and composer Christophe Chassol, among others—debut album Saints and Sebastian Stories weaves Sabel’s soulful and transportive vocals with field recordings and samples of ambient sounds. These voices of past and present dance over minimalist piano, atmospheric electronics, programmed beats and organic horns, forming a delicate sonic narrative centered on family and community that reflects the arc of their musical journey.

 

Sabel grew up in an intentional community in a small village in the north of Norway, surrounded by tight-knit families and cradled by the sound of her family’s piano. Vildgren had a similar rural upbringing also in the northern part of their country. As a teenager he began spending time at the Kråkeslottet community center on the island of Senja, where he connected with other local artists and musicians, and today helps organize its annual music festival.

 

The pair met in high school, and later moved to Oslo to attend university. When they began writing their first album, it felt natural to include the many people that have nurtured and inspired them along the way. Most often revealed as textures in the broader composition, little flickers of voices from old home movies, or snippets of conversations with friends, are woven throughout Konradsen’s songs, providing a continuous sense of mystery and familiarity. “It makes me feel safe somehow,” Sabel says of these voices. “It makes the music personal, and reveals little insights about who we are.” “It’s sort of like a glimpse of something bigger…like a sneak peak or a still photo,” Vildgren adds.

 

These moments are most obvious on “Cosmic Kid Vibration” and “Big Bruce,” which utilize larger snippets of voices. The latter is a recording taken from an old VHS tape belonging to Sabel’s father. It depicts a family friend impersonating a televangelist, and bleeds into album highlight “Television Land,” a gospel-flecked mediation that places Sabel’s voice front and center. “And the high will find us through them/Will find us through them,” she sings over a chorus of voices, reflecting on these past and future bonds. Opener “Never Say A” displays a touch of humor via child-like synths that accent Sabel’s opening words, while “Baby Hallelujah” is a simple, honest and stirring meditation on life and the great beyond, layered with samples of the voices of close friends.

 

Recorded with lauded Norwegian producer Kåre Vestrheim at Propeller Recordings, and at Vildgren’s home studio in Oslo, Saints and Sebastian Stories is a tender and homespun thread between past and present elevating our underlying interconnectedness through a journey in friendship and quiet reflection. Outside of the sampled voices, a host of friends also played instruments on the record, or contributed artwork, bringing the message full circle. “We really consider this community music, something that is very close to heart,” Sabel says. “And we wanted to communicate that not only through the lyrics, but also through the sounds and the people in the band.”

Konradsen

Saints and Sebastian Stories

Sortie le 25 octobre 2019

Su Tissue

Les racines de Konradsen, duo formé de la chanteuse et pianiste Jenny Marie Sabel et du multi-instrumentiste Erik Vildgren, se trouvent à l’extrême nord de la Norvège, où les lumières du Nord embrasent le ciel noir des nuits hivernales. Ce paysage onirique reflète leur musique – la tradition rencontre l’innovation, et la nature révèle son filament astral.

 

Sur leur premier album Saints and Sebastian Stories, inspiré par les chansons traditionnelles et les hymnes que chantait Sabel avec sa famille pendant son enfance, et la pop moderne que le duo apprécie tant – par exemple le travail de Bon Iver, Sufjan Stevens, Frank Ocean et le compositeur Christophe Chassol –, s’entremêlent la voix émouvante de Sabel, des enregistrements extérieurs et des samples de sons d’ambiance. Ces voix du passé et du présent dansent sur les notes d’un piano minimaliste, des couches atmosphériques électroniques, des beats programmés et des cors organiques, formant une narration sonique délicate autour de la famille, de la communauté, au cœur de leur musique.

 

Sabel a grandi au sein d’une communauté dans un petit village du nord de la Norvège, entourée de familles très soudées et bercée par le son du piano familial. Vildgren est lui aussi un enfant de la campagne norvégienne du nord. Adolescent il a fait la rencontre d’autres musiciens et artistes du coin au centre communautaire de Kråkeslottet sur l’île de Senja. Aujourd’hui il aide le centre à organiser son festival de musique annuel.

 

Sabel et Vildgren se sont rencontrés au lycée, ils ont ensuite déménagé à Oslo pour poursuivre leurs études à l’université. Lorsqu’ils se sont mis à l’écriture de leur premier album, il leur a paru naturel d’inclure toutes les personnes qui les avaient inspirés. Prenant le plus souvent la forme de textures au sein de la composition globale, de petits vacillements de voix issues de films amateurs familiaux, ou des bribes de conversations entre amis sont incorporés aux chansons de Konradsen, conférant à l’album un mystère et une familiarité. « Ça m’aide à me sentir en sécurité », explique Sabel à propos de ces voix. « Elles rendent la musique personnelle, elle donne ainsi quelques indices sur les personnes que nous sommes. » Vildgren ajoute : « C’est comme si on laissait entrevoir quelque chose de plus grand… Comme un rapide coup d’œil ou un instantané. »

 

Ces moments-là sont plus évidents sur « Cosmic Kid Vibration » et « Big Bruce », qui contiennent des extraits de conversations plus longs. « Big Bruce » est un enregistrement issu d’une vieille cassette VHS ayant appartenu au père de Sabel. Dans cette vidéo il y a un ami de la famille en pleine imitation d’un télévangeliste, qu’on retrouve dans le titre phare de l’album « Television Land », titre qui fait la part belle à la voix de Sabel. “And the high will find us through them/Will find us through them”, chante Sabel accompagnée de chœurs, renvoyant à ces liens passés et futurs. Le titre d’ouverture « Never Say A » montre une touche d’humour au travers de synthétiseurs enfantins, et « Baby Hallelujah » est une méditation simple, honnête et entraînante sur la vie et l’au-delà, parsemée de samples de voix d’amis proches.

 

Enregistré avec le producteur norvégien reconnu Kåre Vestrheim chez Propeller Recordings, et dans le home studio de Vildgren à Oslo, Saints and Sebastian Stories est un fil simple et touchant reliant le passé et le présent, élevant nos interconnexions sous-jacentes grâce à un voyage au centre de l’amitié et d’une réflexion paisible. En dehors des voix samplées, plusieurs amis ont joué sur l’album, ou fourni une illustration, afin de compléter le message. « Nous considérons vraiment cette musique comme une musique communautaire, quelque chose de très intime », explique Sabel. « Et nous souhaitions partager cet esprit non seulement au travers de nos paroles, mais aussi via les sons et les personnes du groupe. »