James McVinnie & Tom Jenkinson

Voix Célestes

Out September 27th 2019

Warp

‘All Night Chroma’ is a collection of compositions for organ by Tom Jenkinson, performed by renowned organist James McVinnie. It features eight breathtaking performances recorded over one night in 2016 on the extraordinary and much-admired 1954 Harrison & Harrison organ at London’s Royal Festival Hall. The compositions were commissioned by No-Nation with PRSF for Music and debuted as ‘The Secret Life of Organs’ in 2016 with a run of live dates in the UK supported by Arts Council England. The original pieces have since been revised to make up ‘All Night Chroma’.

 

James McVinnie is widely considered to be one of the leading organists in the world today. He has collaborated with many leading figures in new music including Philip Glass, Angelique Kidjo, Martin Creed, Richard Reed Parry, Bryce Dessner, Hildur Guðnadóttir and artists across Warp’s roster such as Oneohtrix Point Never and Darkstar, many of whom have written large scale works for him. He is a member of the Icelandic record label Bedroom Community. ‘Cycles’, his debut recording of music written for him by Nico Muhly, was released on this label in 2013 to widespread critical acclaim. An album of music by Philip Glass, ‘The Grid’, was released on Orange Mountain Music in 2018.

 

Tom Jenkinson first struck out as a composer in 2003, scoring pieces for the London Sinfonietta for the ‘Warp Works and 20th century Masters’ show which debuted at the Royal Festival Hall, London. In 2005, Tom scored a series of pieces for solo electric bass which later formed part of a collaboration with Evan Parker in 2007. A recording of these compositions performed at Cité de la Musique, Paris was released in 2009. In 2013, he collaborated with Charles Hazlewood to reimagine the Squarepusher album, ‘Ufabulum’ for orchestra. It has since toured extensively, for example at Fairfield Hall, London, with the Krakow Sinfonia at the Sacrum Profanum festival and most recently for a run of dates in Holland. In 2018 he was asked to compose a one-hour piece, ‘Daydreams’ for BBC’s CBeebies, narrated by Olivia Coleman. ‘All Night Chroma’ further showcases the breadth of Jenkinson’s talent away from the electronic sounds and the bass guitar where he is widely considered a virtuoso, both of which form the basis of his work as Squarepusher.

 

Speaking about his involvement and collaboration with McVinnie, Tom Jenkinson explains: “I have tried to investigate the more subtle and otherworldly sonic aspects of the organ. In particular I find myself drawn to the flute stops which are not what facilitate the grander sonic characteristics of the instrument, but to my ear are amongst the sweetest and strangest tonal colours that any instrument can produce. Collaborating with James has been an immensely enjoyable experience, not only for his astonishing musicianship but also for his receptivity to ideas and willingness to experiment.”

“There are aspects of writing for organ which I find comparable to writing music for electronics. There is a very tangible weight to the amount of technology around you in an organ performance, unlike any other acoustic instrument I have any experience of. Sounds may be accessed by the touch of a button, such that sonic variety is achieved by mechanical means as much as it is by the performer’s skill. In that way I see the organist as immersed in technology much more than performers of other acoustic instruments and, despite its long history, it thus seems an eternally modern instrument. Maybe there is something reminiscent of the dark glamour of a computer genius about the organist, wrapped up in machinery, remote from and indifferent to praise.” 

 

James McVinnie adds: “Working with Tom on this project has been an incredible process. The music is technically challenging to realise, both in terms of playing the notes, but also fitting them to the rich and kaleidoscopic colours and timbres of the Royal Festival Hall Organ. This instrument is a pinnacle of mid-century design which caused a sensation in the musical world when it was first heard — it speaks with a clarity and freshness which, despite its rich and noble history, makes it an ideal vehicle for this new music.”

James McVinnie & Tom Jenkinson

Voix Célestes

Sortie le 27 septembre 2019

Warp

All Night Chroma est une collection de compositions pour l’orgue de Tom Jenkinson, interprétées par le célèbre organiste James McVinnie. En 2016, ces huit pièces ont été enregistrées au Royal Festival Hall de Londres sur l’extraordinaire orgue Harrison & Harrison de 1954. Ces compositions ont été à l’origine commandées par No-Nation avec PRS for Music Foundation et ont vues le jour en tant que « The Secret Life of Organs » en 2016 avec une série de concerts au Royaume-Uni, soutenus par le Arts Council England. Les compositions originales ont depuis été retravaillées pour former All Night Chroma.

 

James McVinnie est considéré comme l’un des organistes les plus éminents aujourd’hui. Il a collaboré avec de nombreuses personnalités de la musique dont Philip Glass, Angelique Kidjo, Martin Creed, Richard Reed Parry, Bryce Dessner, Hildur Guðnadóttir ainsi que des artistes signés chez Warp comme Oneohtrix Point Never et Darkstar. Il est membre du label islandais Bedroom Community. Cycles’, son premier enregistrement de musique écrite pour lui par Nico Muhly, sort sur ce label en 2013 et est salué par la critique. Un album de musique de Philip Glass,‘The Grid’, est sorti sur Orange Mountain Music en 2018.

 

Tom Jenkinson a fait ses premiers pas en tant que compositeur en 2003, en composant des pièces pour la Sinfonietta de Londres pour ‘Warp Works and 20th century Masters’ qui avait débuté au Royal Festival Hall, à Londres. En 2005, Tom a composé une série de pièces pour basse électrique solo qui ont ensuite fait partie d’une collaboration avec Evan Parker en 2007. Un enregistrement de ces compositions interprétées à la Cité de la Musique à Paris est paru en 2009. En 2013, il collabore avec Charles Hazlewood pour réimaginer son album Squarepusher ‘Ufabulum’ pour un orchestre. Depuis, il a fait de nombreuses tournées, par exemple à Fairfield Hall, à Londres, avec la Sinfonia de Cracovie au festival Sacrum Profanum et plus récemment pour une série de dates en Hollande. En 2018, on lui a demandé de composer une pièce d’une heure,’Daydreams’ pour CBeebies de la BBC, narrée par Olivia Coleman. All Night Chroma’ met en évidence l’étendue des talents de Jenkinson, loin des sons électroniques et de la guitare basse pour lesquels il est largement considéré comme un virtuose, deux éléments qui sont à la base de son travail de Squarepusher.

 

Tom Jenkinson parle de sa collaboration avec McVinnie« J’ai essayé d’étudier les aspects sonores plus subtils et issues d’un autre monde de l’orgue. En particulier, je suis attiré par les jeux de flûte qui ne sont pas ce qui facilite les caractéristiques sonores plus grandioses de l’instrument, mais à mon oreille sont parmi les couleurs sonores les plus douces et les plus étranges que tout instrument peut produire. Collaborer avec James a été une expérience extrêmement agréable, non seulement pour son étonnante musicalité, mais aussi pour sa réceptivité aux idées et sa volonté d’expérimenter. »

 

« Il y a des aspects de l’écriture pour orgue que je trouve comparables à l’écriture de musique pour l’électronique. Il y a un poids très tangible à la quantité de technologie qui vous entoure dans une performance d’orgue, contrairement à tout autre instrument acoustique dont j’ai l’expérience. Les sons sont accessibles par simple pression d’un bouton, de sorte que la variété sonore est obtenue par des moyens mécaniques autant que par l’habileté de l’interprète. De cette façon, je vois l’organiste comme étant beaucoup plus immergé dans la technologie que les interprètes d’autres instruments acoustiques et, malgré sa longue histoire, il semble donc un instrument éternellement moderne. Peut-être qu’il y a quelque chose qui rappelle le glamour sombre d’un génie de l’informatique chez l’organiste, enveloppé dans des machines, loin des louanges et indifférent à celles-ci. »

 

James McVinnie ajoute: « Travailler avec Tom sur ce projet a été un processus incroyable. La musique est techniquement difficile à exécuter, à la fois pour jouer les notes, mais aussi pour les adapter aux couleurs et timbres riches et kaléidoscopiques de l’orgue du Royal Festival Hall. Cet instrument est l’apogée d’un design du milieu du siècle qui a fait sensation dans le monde musical lorsqu’il a été entendu pour la première fois – il parle avec une clarté et une fraîcheur qui, malgré sa riche et noble histoire, en fait un véhicule idéal pour cette nouvelle musique. »