Gabriele Poso

Batik

Out October 11th 2019

Soundway Records

Born in Italy before studying in Puerto Rico and Cuba, a globe-trotting spirit manifested in Gabriele Poso from a young age. This also extends to his multi-instrumental and genre-hopping approach as a musician that sees him glide through continental and sonic styles with grace.

 

A passion for percussion was picked up early and his career has reflected this love for grooves, skipping through jazz, Latin, Afrobeat and soul. A run of albums followed, including the award-winning 2012 Roots of Soul, and as did love from the likes of Gilles Peterson and a series of collaborations with artists such as Osunlade and Louie Vega.

 

This latest album was born from the impulsive and spontaneous nature of live sessions with his new band, the Organik Trio. “While we were rehearsing I realised that the sound coming out was much better than what we had on the album,” he says. “It had this strong sense of character and a very unique voice. I decided to immediately stop the rehearsals and set up the whole studio for a new recording session.”

 

What followed were sessions rooted in the primal essence of following instincts as the band zipped through infectious Afrobeat, caramel-smooth soul, cosmic disco grooves and an eclectic yet coherent traverse through deeply rhythmic music from all across the world. The process was almost a spiritual one for Poso. “I strongly believe that music is deeply connected with who we are as humans,” he says. “This process drove us to be something different everyday, trying to understand our own personal journey in the process.”

 

The result on record is a transcendent one. Like being at a concert itself, amidst the whirlwind moment of musicians locked into a hypnotic state and reaching somewhere special. The intensity and vivacity of the live nature of the record is one that pulses and was ultimately at the heart of what Poso was shooting for. “I tried to capture the energy of the band that is usually only released in front of an audience during a live show,” he says. “What happens in that moment is unique, inimitable and instant – it cannot be replicated. I wanted to freeze this uniqueness and translate it into a record.”

 

The band were so lost in the moment of creation that when the whole first week of recording sessions were lost due to error it was impossible to replicate them. “Not one of us could remember a note we’d been playing on almost 10 tracks. It’s now become a lost album that nobody will ever listen to.”

 

This album, Batik, on the other hand, is very much one will people listen to. The album – which also features guest spots from the likes of Nailah Porter, Quetzal Guerrero and Nina Rodriguez – captures a time, place and spirit but is one Poso hopes will live on and can act as a unifying force outside of just the studio. “The whole album embodies the idea and concept that we all are a mix of different races and cultures that can melt to become one single and strong voice.”

Gabriele Poso

Batik

Sortie le 11 octobre 2019

Soundway Records

Naissance en Italie, études à Porto Rico et Cuba, Gabriele Poso est un véritable globe-trotter. Et son approche de la musique est identique, c’est un multi-instrumentiste, touchant à tous les genres.

 

Gabriele est passionné de percussions depuis toujours, son travail en est la preuve, il adore les grooves, dans le jazz comme dans l’afrobeat ou la soul. Il a sorti plusieurs albums, dont le récompensé Roots of Soul en 2012, a été chaleureusement accueilli par Gilles Peterson dans le cadre de son festival pour une session live, et a collaboré avec des artistes comme Osunlade et Louie Vega.

 

Son dernier album est le fruit de ses sessions live fougueuses et spontanées avec son nouveau groupe, The Organik Trio. « Pendant qu’on répétait je me suis rendu compte que le son était bien meilleur que celui qu’on avait sur l’album. Il avait du caractère, une voix unique. J’ai immédiatement stoppé les répétitions et préparé le studio pour une nouvelle session d’enregistrement. »

 

Dès ce moment la musique a été faite à l’instinct, le groupe a joué un afrobeat endiablé, une soul douce comme du miel, des grooves disco, et a fait quelques détours du côté de musiques extrêmement rythmiques et très variées aux origines internationales. Le processus de création fut presque spirituel pour Gabriele Poso. « Je suis persuadé que la musique est profondément liée à ce que nous sommes en tant qu’êtres humains. Ce processus a fait de nous des personnes différentes chaque jour, ça nous permettait de trouver un sens à notre progression personnelle dans ce chemin créatif. »

 

Toute cette énergie transcende l’album. Il est comme un concert, on est au cœur d’une tempête, les musiciens en transe nous emmènent dans des sphères extraordinaires. L’intensité de la dimension live de l’album est exactement ce que souhaitait Poso. « J’ai essayé de faire ressortir l’énergie du groupe qui habituellement ne se révèle que pendant un concert, devant un public. Ce moment est unique, instantané, on ne peut pas le reproduire. Je voulais le capturer et le traduire dans l’album. »

 

Le groupe a connu un moment difficile au cours de la création lorsque les sessions de la première semaine d’enregistrement ont été accidentellement perdues. « Aucun de nous n’arrivait à se souvenir d’une seule note de la dizaine de morceaux qu’on avait joués. C’est à présent un album disparu que personne ne pourra jamais écouter. »

 

Un album qui sera, lui, écouté, c’est Batik. Il compte plusieurs featurings, Nailah Porter, Quetzal Guerrero, Nina Rodriguez. C’est un album que Poso souhaite voir vivre longtemps, telle une force unificatrice évoluant en dehors des murs d’un studio. « Tout l’album représente l’idée, le concept que nous sommes tous un mélange de différentes origines et cultures qui peuvent se fondre en une puissante et unique voix. »