FOXTROTT

Meditations I-II-III

Out October 12th 2018

One Little Indian

Marie-Hélène L. Delorme is a vocalist, producer and multi-instrumentalist who hails from Montreal. Since unveiling the Foxtrott moniker to the world with the EP Shields (2012) and her Polaris Prize-nominated debut A Taller Us (2015), released on esteemed UK imprint One Little Indian, her beefy bass lines, captivating melodies and lyrical candour have taken her to New York, London, Berlin and beyond. She has received critical praise and industry plaudits from the likes of BBC1, France Inter, the UK MVAs and Red Bull Music Academy, where she served as a Canadian studio mentor last fall.

 

With a uniquely eclectic musical DNA – Delorme grew up on a steady diet of reggae, hip hop, soul, jazz and classical music – she draws from multiple musical worlds without being tethered to any one genre. “The way my brain works, I absorb the energy of a piece of music I like, and then try to reproduce the feeling, the physical effect, but without copying the codes. That process is what excites me most.” The result is an accessible yet deeply personal production style made up of rich, off-centre sounds, earthy beats and shimmering percussions, paired with her warm, forthright vocals.

 

After channeling fears, insecurities and assorted “twentysomething stuff” into A Taller Us, Delorme found herself more confident, relaxed and open to the world on Meditations I-II-III, a record first developed on a trip to southwestern Mexico. She describes the album’s contemplative creative process as tuning into something way larger than herself. “I felt this really warm energy supporting me throughout the process and felt compelled to give the listener a big hug, like a warm blanket of sound to find refuge in.” The songwriting on Meditations I-II-III juxtaposes Delorme’s serene state of mind with a more threatening world just out of reach. “As the album came into focus, I got interested in exploring the contrast between the state of individuals in their personal lives and these glimpses of chaos unfolding elsewhere. By opening up to others, we also expose ourselves more. By welcoming the world in, we’re also confronted to all the pain, the ugliness and the dangers. The daily choice we make between love and fear is particularly relevant in our current climate. I wanted to translate that tension in musical form, a bit like the opening and closing of a window,” she reflects.

 

Foxtrott’s signature sound has always been imbued with an unmistakably cinematic feel, forever oscillating between the dark and the luminous. The release of Meditations I-II-III comes at a time when her parallel pursuits of composition for film/TV, producing and songwriting are converging like never before. “Foxtrott is purely my baby, an extension of my soul. It’s a universe where I can completely be myself. I gain an energy from that freedom which I can bring into everything else,” she sums up. In addition to recent collaborations with Cadenza, Random Recipe, Jean-Michel Blais and Pierre Kwenders, Delorme has kept up a steady cycle of composition for film, production for musicians and special projects.

Foxtrott

Meditations I-II-III

Sortie le 12 octobre 2018

One Little Indian

Marie-Hélène L. Delorme est une chanteuse, productrice et multi-instrumentiste de Montréal. Sous le nom de Foxtrott, elle a sorti un EP, Shields (2012), puis un premier album via le prestigieux label One Little Indian, A Taller Us (2015), nominé pour le prix Polaris. Ses grosses lignes de basse, ses mélodies captivantes et la sincérité de ses paroles lui ont permis de se produire à New York, Londres, ou encore Berlin, entre autres. Elle a reçu les éloges de la critique et de l’industrie musicale, par exemple BBC1, France Inter, les UK Music Video Awards, et la Red Bull Music Academy, qui l’a invitée en tant que mentor canadien en studio dans le cadre de son Bass Camp l’automne dernier.

 

Delorme a une base musicale très éclectique – elle a grandi avec le reggae, le hip hop, la soul, le jazz et la musique classique –, elle s’inspire de différents univers musicaux sans s’attacher à un genre en particulier. « Mon cerveau fonctionne de la façon suivante : j’absorbe l’énergie d’une musique que j’aime, et je tente de reproduire le feeling, l’effet physique, mais sans en copier les codes. C’est ce processus qui m’enthousiasme le plus. » De cette manière elle produit une musique au style personnel mais accessible, constituée de sons riches, originaux, décalés, de percussions scintillantes, couplés à sa voix chaude et franche.

 

Après avoir canalisé ses peurs, ses inquiétudes et classé les trucs de « quand on a la vingtaine » dans son album A Taller Us, Delorme est à présent plus confiante, détendue et ouverte au monde sur Meditations I-II-III, un disque à l’origine développé au cours d’un voyage dans le Sud-Ouest du Mexique. Elle décrit le processus créatif et contemplatif de l’album comme une connexion avec quelque chose de bien plus grand qu’elle. « J’ai ressenti cette énergie très forte me soutenir tout au long du processus, et j’ai eu l’envie irrépressible de serrer mon auditeur dans mes bras, comme une couverture de sons rassurante au creux de laquelle il pourrait se réfugier. » La composition sur Meditations I-II-III juxtapose l’état d’esprit serein de Delorme et un monde plus menaçant hors de portée. « Alors que l’album commençait à prendre forme, j’ai voulu explorer le contraste entre l’état dans lequel sont les gens dans leur vie personnelle et ces signes de chaos qui se manifestent partout. En s’ouvrant aux autres, on s’expose soi-même davantage. En laissant entrer le monde, on se confronte à toute sa douleur, sa laideur, et ses dangers. Le choix quotidien qu’on fait entre l’amour et la peur colle totalement au climat actuel. Je voulais traduire cette tension en musique, un peu comme on ouvre et ferme une fenêtre. »

 

 

La signature musicale de Foxtrott a toujours été marquée par un sentiment cinématique manifeste, oscillant constamment entre l’ombre et la lumière. La sortie de Meditations I-II-III coïncide plus que jamais avec les projets parallèles de Delorme en matière de composition pour le cinéma et la télévision, de production et d’écriture. « Foxtrott est mon bébé, une extension de mon âme. C’est un univers dans lequel je peux être moi-même. Cette liberté me donne une énergie que je peux investir dans tout le reste. » En plus de récentes collaborations avec Cadenza, Random Recipe, Jean-Michel Blais et Pierre Kwenders, Delorme continue de composer pour le cinéma et de produire des musiciens et des projets spéciaux.