Fémina

Perlas Y Conchas

Out April 5th 2019

Kartel

Fémina – an Argentinian female trio – channel blissed out, harmony-soaked soul music with a purpose. Lyrically poignant with hip hop and Latin folk major influences, ‘Perlas & Conchas‘ is the group’s third album proper and unlike previous long players, is primarily an electronic statement, recorded and produced by British producer and musician Quantic – the first ever creation at his Selva Studios in New York.

 

The Latin word for “woman”, their name ‘Fémina’ is a simple declaration of their proud stance as a band of three females, something which set them apart when they first started performing in Argentina. Originating from the beautiful mountain town of San Martín de los Andes in the southern region of Patagonia, the group sings in Spanish waxing on themes of gender equality and race.

 

After their debut in 2011 with Deshice De Mi, their sophomore album, Traspasa (2014), notched up nearly 6 million plays on Spotify with the song “Buen Viaje”. Since then Fémina have grown the world-over garnering praise from Rolling Stone, Billboard and KEXP racking up hundreds of thousands of online plays. After rock legend Iggy Pop repeatedly featured Fémina on his BBC 6Music radio show, they were invited to his home in Miami whilst on tour in the US, laying the groundwork for their collaboration on the new album.

 

The title “Perlas & Conchas” translates to ‘Pearls and Shells’, a reference to the process through which a pearl is created: a speck of dirt, encased in a shell, turned into an object of wonder. They want to do the same thing with their music: to take dark, difficult situations and turn them into positivity. The title also has another, closely connected meaning, “concha” often being used in Argentina to refer to the female anatomy.

 

Made up of Clara Miglioli and the two Trucco sisters, Sofia and Clara, their roots are in San Martín de los Andes in the Patagonian mountains, where they grew up together sharing a love of ‘90s hip-hop imported from the US – as well as the occasional Spanish-speaking rapper from Mexico or Spain. When they started, they were one of the few all-female groups in the scene, something which they’ve been proud to see changing. Sofia and Clara Miglioli moved to Buenos Aires in 2004, intending to pursue careers in theatre and dance, where they first started the group, staying close to their early rap roots; they made music with Koxmoz, a group in the city’s then small but close-knit hip-hop scene. Sofia’s younger sister, Clara “Wewi” Trucco, joined in 2008, which is when they took a sidestep in their musical style. Instead of raps over hip-hop instrumentals, they began drawing on vocal harmonies and playing live instruments such as the ronroco from Bolivia – a process that led them toward their unique style: a combination of soul, hip-hop and traditional Latin American folk music.

 

Quantic’s deep musical knowledge helped bring to life the many and varied ideas which came out of their sessions together, realising their vision for an “obra completa” – a complete work, an expansive, cohesive collection of their different influences. “The idea from the beginning was to get together and experiment, the four of us,” Sofia says. Multi–talented with immense experience as a producer, remixer and musician, Quantic’s previous credits include the Quantic Soul Orchestra (Tru Thoughts) and inter-generational Colombian supergroup Ondatrópica (Soundway). His experience as a keen outsider to Latin American music made him the perfect foil for the group’s globally-minded ambitions: a sound rooted in the history of their home continent but shaped into new and exciting forms.

 

Their music builds on intellectual foundations with a sensual impulse. This ranges from influences of surrealist poetry to the writings of 19th century essayist Henry David Thoreau, using different viewpoints helping to hone their unique perspective. It’s expressed in the diversity of the music they’ve produced, from ‘Brillando’, with its meditative, harmonised vocals, to ‘Resist’, where a rumbling, trap-tilted beat is given extra emotional heft by Iggy Pop’s vocal. On ‘Arriba’, meanwhile, traditional influences are fed through a funk-influenced groove, and on ‘Plumas’, they wear their electronic influences on their sleeve, the track driven by a drum machine rhythm.

 

They use music as the vehicle for these different ideas, a direct hotline to people’s emotions that opens them up to new ways of thinking. We want to go with the music to a place that makes you feel good,” they say, “something that makes you feel pleasure and something profound.”

 

For that reason, they try to tackle the difficult or divisive subjects – to take specks of dirt and turn them into pearls.

Fémina

Perlas Y Conchas

Sortie le 5 avril 2019

Kartel

Fémina est un trio argentin exclusivement féminin, dont la musique soul béate et pleine d’harmonie est très déterminée. Avec des paroles poignantes et de fortes influences hip-hop et folk latine, Perlas & Conchas, le troisième album du groupe, est différent des précédents. Il est avant tout électronique, enregistré et produit par le producteur et musicien anglais Quantic – sa toute première création dans les murs de son studio Selva à New York.

 

En espagnol, « Fémina » signifie « femme », une proclamation simple de leur fierté à être un groupe de trois femmes, quelque chose qui les a distinguées lorsqu’elles ont commencé à se produire en Argentine. Originaire de la magnifique ville de San Martín de los Andes dans le Sud de la Patagonie, le trio chante en espagnol sur le thème de l’égalité des genres et des races.

 

Après un premier album en 2011, Deshice De Mi, leur deuxième album Traspasa en 2014 a atteint les 6 millions de lectures sur Spotify avec la chanson « Buen Viaje ». Depuis, Fémina ont conquis le monde en séduisant Rolling Stone, Billboard et la radio KEXP, et en faisant des centaines de milliers d’écoutes en ligne. Elles ont été passées plusieurs fois par Iggy Pop dans son show sur la radio BBC 6 Music, puis il les a conviées chez lui à Miami pendant une tournée américaine, établissant les fondations de leur collaboration sur leur nouvel album.

 

Le titre Perlas & Conchas se traduit par « Perles et Coquilles », une référence au processus de création d’une perle : une petite particule intruse ou un grain de sable, enfermé dans une coquille, se transforme en merveille. C’est ce qu’elles veulent faire avec leur musique : transformer des situations sombres et difficiles en positivité. Le titre a une seconde signification puisque « concha » est souvent utilité en Argentine en référence à l’anatomie féminine.

 

Les racines du groupe, formé par Clara Miglioli et les deux sœurs Sofia et Clara Trucco, sont ancrées dans la ville de San Martín de los Andes, dans les montagnes de Patagonie, où elles ont grandi ensemble au son du hip-hop américain des années 1990 – et parfois du hip-hop de quelques rappeurs mexicains ou espagnols. À leurs débuts, elles font partie du cercle restreint des groupes de femmes, qui s’est peu à peu élargi, à leur grande fierté. Sofia et Clara Miglioli s’installent à Buenos Aires en 2004 pour suivre une carrière dans le théâtre et la danse, c’est à ce moment-là que le groupe se forme. Respectant leurs racines rap, elles font de la musique avec Koxmoz, un groupe local de la petite mais très unie scène hip-hop. La petite sœur de Sofia, Clara « Wewi » Trucco, les rejoint en 2008, période où elles décident de s’éloigner de leur style musical. Au lieu de rapper sur des instrus hip-hop, elles commencent à s’entraîner à des harmonies vocales, à jouer des instruments live comme le ronroco, un instrument inspiré de la guitare venu de Bolivie. Ce processus les rapproche de leur style unique : un mélange de soul, de hip-hop et de musique folk latino-américaine traditionnelle.

 

Les connaissances musicales très étendues de Quantic permettent de donner vie aux nombreuses et diverses idées créées au cours de leurs sessions ensemble, d’accomplir leur vision pour une « obra completa » – une œuvre complète, un rassemblement expansif et cohésif de leurs différentes influences. « Depuis le début l’idée était de se réunir et d’expérimenter, tous les quatre », explique Sofia. Quantic, talentueux producteur, remixeur et musicien d’expérience, est à l’origine du Quantic Soul Orchestra (Tru Thoughts) et du groupe colombien intergénérationnel Ondatrópica (Soundway). Son expérience d’outsider passionné de la musique latino-américaine fait de lui le meilleur atout pour les ambitions très ouvertes du groupe : un son ancré dans l’histoire de leur continent mais façonné sous des formes nouvelles et excitantes.

 

Leur musique se construit avec une impulsion sensuelle sur des fondations intellectuelles. Leurs influences vont de la poésie surréaliste du XIXe siècle aux écrits de l’essayiste Henry David Thoreau, toujours en utilisant différents points de vue afin d’affiner leur perspective unique. Cette méthode s’exprime dans la diversité de la musique qu’ils ont produite, de « Brillando », titre aux voix méditatives et harmonisées, à « Resist », dans lequel Iggy Pop apporte une dimension émotionnelle à un beat grondant. Sur « Arriba », les influences traditionnelles sont nourries par un groove proche du funk, et sur « Plumas », les influences électroniques sont assumées, le titre étant porté par une boîte à rythmes.

 

La musique leur sert d’émetteur d’idées, une ligne directe vers les émotions des gens qui leur ouvre de nouveaux horizons de pensée. « Nous voulons vous emmener avec la musique dans un endroit où vous serez heureux. Quelque chose qui vous fasse ressentir du plaisir, quelque chose de profond. »

C’est pour ça qu’elles essaient de s’attaquer aux sujets difficiles ou polémiques, pour changer des grains de sable en perles.