Felbm

Tape 1 & Tape 2

Out October 26th 2018

Soundway

Felbm is what you get if you try to type “Eelco” on a Nokia phone with autocorrect turned on. It is also the name that Utrecht-based musician and producer Eelco Topper chose to use for his new semi-acoustic instrumental music project.

 

After Topper’s previous synthesiser-laden sounds as Falco Benz, he took a step back and began this project in a much looser, simpler and sketch-like approach. Picking up an acoustic guitar for the first time, as well as other instruments, he began fiddling around with a Tascam 4-track tape recorder and allowed these sketches to flourish, although always keeping them naive and basic; an element naturally helped by the compositional structure of a maximum of four parts.

 

The result is Tape 1 and Tape 2, stretching across fifteen tracks and encompassing a lounge-y library music feel to them. There’s fluttering piano melodies, subtle jazz drums, rumba rhythms and soothing ambience that floats through many of the tracks. The jazz element links back to Topper’s childhood. “I grew up playing drums, switched to playing piano at sixteen and in the meantime I produced hip-hop beats,” he recalls. “I went to study jazz piano at the Utrecht Conservatory, which I finished with pain and effort since I couldn’t really play jazz and was interested more in electronic and present-day music.”

 

This mix of being rooted in traditional jazz composition whilst searching for something more contemporary is the perfect encapsulation of these recordings. Tape 1’s jazz roots are palpable and as things move into Tape 2, it takes on a neo-classical, psychedelic soundscape and cinematic quality. Topper’s ability to switch between the two with such seamless grace is clearly testament to his versatility as a musician.

 

The distinct character that the tracks emit also comes from a unique place; Felbm’s influences are not the usual and predictable lot and include Mocky, Mathieu Boogaerts, Andy Shauf, Sam Prekop, Tonbruket, Tape and Mary Lattimore. Even then he manages to extract an essence or a mood from his influences rather than emulate them. “My taste goes into all kinds of directions – the context or genre doesn’t really matter.”

 

The relaxed, immersive tone of this release effortlessly encompasses multiple genres but it also reflects a period of change in Topper’s life. After releasing 4 EPs and an album as Falco Benz in a three-year period – as well as having a “modest summer radio hit” with “Hat Tricks” – Topper felt the need to wind down. “A close to burn-out period, both creatively and mentally, led to leaving my electronic music alone for some time,” he says. “A period then followed in which I started picking up an acoustic guitar – an instrument that I really couldn’t play. It felt very fresh and liberating to just fool around and at some point I started recording my ideas onto a four-track cassette recorder.”

 

Topper played all the parts himself when in the studio, allowing him complete creative control over every note. A live band is being formed to take the material on the road; however, in order to keep with the ingenuous and dreamy essence of the record, the live shows will be a continuation of the four-part format.

Felbm

Tape 1 & Tape 2

Sortie le 26 octobre 2018

Soundway

 »Felbm » est le mot qu’on obtient en tapant  »Eelco » sur un Nokia quand l’autocorrection est activée. C’est aussi le nom que Eelco Topper, musicien et producteur basé à Utrecht (Pays-Bas), a adopté pour son nouveau projet musical instrumental semi-acoustique.

 

Après ses sons de synthétiseur sous son nom de Falco Benz, Topper décide de prendre du recul et de commencer ce nouveau projet dans un esprit plus libre, plus simple, se fondant davantage sur des ébauches. En s’accompagnant, pour la première fois, d’une guitare acoustique, ainsi que d’autres instruments, il commence à bricoler sur un enregistreur cassette quatre pistes Tascam et laisse ces ébauches s’épanouir, tout en préservant leur fraîcheur et leur essence ; un processus aidé naturellement par la structure de composition en quatre parties.

 

Il obtient ainsi Tape 1 et Tape 2, quinze titres emplis d’une atmosphère de librairie musicale lounge. Il y a des mélodies au piano flottantes, une batterie jazz subtile, des rythmes rumba et une ambiance apaisante qui se promène sur la plupart des titres. L’élément jazz nous ramène à l’enfance de Topper. ‘‘J’ai grandi en jouant de la batterie, puis je suis passé au piano à 16 ans, et en même temps je faisais des beats hip-hop. J’ai étudié le piano jazz au Conservatoire d’Utrecht, j’ai eu mon diplôme après beaucoup d’efforts et de douleur étant donné que je ne savais pas vraiment jouer du jazz et que j’étais plutôt intéressé par l’électronique et la musique contemporaine. »

 

Le fait d’avoir acquis les bases de la composition jazz traditionnelle et de rechercher quelque chose de plus contemporain représente parfaitement ces enregistrements. Les racines jazz de Tape 1 sont évidentes, et lorsqu’on passe à Tape 2, le paysage musical devient néo-classique, psychédélique, avec une qualité cinématique. La capacité de Topper à passer de l’un à l’autre avec une grâce si cohérente démontre sa versatilité en tant que musicien.

 

Les influences de Felbm ne sont ni habituelles ni prévisibles, elles comptent Mocky, Mathieu Boogaerts, Andy Shauf, Sam Prekop, Tonbruket, Tape et Mary Lattimore. Il parvient à extraire de ces influences une essence ou une ambiance, sans jamais les imiter.  »Mes goûts sont très hétéroclites – le contexte ou le genre n’ont aucune importance. »

 

Le ton détendu, immersif de ces disques englobe aisément de multiples genres, mais il est aussi le reflet d’une période de changement dans la vie de Topper. Après avoir sorti en trois ans 4 EP et un album sous le nom de Falco Benz – et en ayant eu un  »modeste succès radio estival » avec  »Hat Tricks » – Topper a eu besoin de décompresser.  »Une période proche du burn-out, en termes de création et aussi mentalement, m’a obligé à laisser de côté un moment ma musique électronique. Par la suite j’ai commencé à jouer d’une guitare acoustique – un instrument dont je ne savais vraiment pas jouer. J’ai trouvé ça libérateur, rafraîchissant de pouvoir simplement m’amuser, et à un moment j’ai commencé à enregistrer mes idées sur un enregistreur cassette quatre pistes. »

 

Topper a joué lui-même toutes les parties en studio, ayant ainsi un contrôle créatif total sur chacune des notes. Il est en train de monter un groupe live pour jouer sa musique sur scène en tournée. Cependant, afin de conserver l’esprit naïf et rêveur du disque, les concerts se feront toujours au moyen du format quatre pistes.