Dungen & Woods

Myths 003

Out March 16th 2018

Mexican Summer

With 2018’s Marfa Myths festival slated to take place in the idyllic namesake backdrop of far west Texas, Mexican Summer once more reveals the fruits of the previous festival’s recording residency. For the third Marfa Myths release, we’re proud to present seven all-new songs written and recorded by Stockholm’s psychedelic masters Dungen and adventurous Brooklyn indie-folk pioneers Woods. Languid, exploratory, and dynamic, these songs hint at something far more than a week of collaborating in the studio, at a shared respect and understanding of one another’s music, and a gorgeously psychedelic experience within.

 

As the Marfa Myths record series progresses, the nature of the collaborations between the artists chosen – one a member of the Mexican Summer family, the other for which we share deep admiration – more carefully informs the nature of the activity itself. In the case of Dungen and Woods, the two bands were tourmates in the summer of 2009, traversing America and bonding with one another in the process, night after night for over a month. These experiences culminated with both groups headlining that year’s Woodsist festival, curated by Woods’ Jeremy Earl in Big Sur, CA. The familiarity with one another’s music and personalities was already well in place, but the eight years that passed between the tour and the making of this record reveal that nothing was lost in the interim.

 

That this is the most music assembled for a Marfa Myths EP to date is telling of a rare and special connection between Dungen and Woods reignited by the circumstances of the occasion. As with past releases in the program, both groups were summoned to Marfa Recording Studios the week before the festival, giving the participants – Dungen’s Gustav Ejstes and Reine Fiske, and Woods’ Jeremy Earl and Jarvis Taveniere – the freedom to acclimate themselves to the unique frequencies of the Marfa experience without distraction.

 

The only requirement was to make music together, and share it with the wider world. Marfa has a way of shading those plans, as Jarvis recalls. “My favorite memories of the experience aren’t even from recording, but I think they really set up my state of mind for the whole trip. One was that first morning in the house where everyone – Woods, Dungen, Mexican Summer folks and their families – was staying, just drinking coffee and staring out the window across the desert, slightly blinded by the sun but still able to make out the silhouettes of kids playing outside. The other was watching porn in the local movie theater with what felt like the entire town. Two totally disparate moments, but they both gave me a really strong sense of community.”

 

Both parties came to this activity prepared to support one another. For both acts, the Marfa Myths residency was a chance to hit the reset button, resume where they last left off together, focus on the task of creating with a renewed clarity fostered by the environment. In preparation for the recording, both group’s frontmen wrote a song meant to be played as a single unit (Jeremy Earl’s “Turn Around” and Gustav Ejstes’ “Jag Ville Va Kvar,” translated in English to “I Wanted to Stay”). “Turn Around” finds the instinctive human pulse that stitches together the best Woods tracks letting its guard down slightly to accommodate the presence of peers, with ornamental backing touches – the upper register piano lines in the chorus … that insistent, descending guitar lead … the faintly-strobing, parochial purr of a Mellotron – that bridge Woods’ conceptual purity with Dungen’s otherworldly studio talents.

 

“Jag Ville Va Kvar” finds a Dungen track cutting a mellower path, with a trancelike half-time rhythm rooted in breakbeats and embellished with congas. Here, as in all great Dungen tracks, Ejstes’ voice introduces the instrumental hook, this time a piano lead that slowly carries the track before dissolving into a rush of synths. There is instrumentation here that doesn’t appear in much of Dungen’s music, but they exist to provide styles against styles, which disarms the track in a way that it becomes one of Dungen’s most immediately warm and meditative tracks. Here, and everywhere else on Marfa Myths 003, you hear the group’s styles informing one another, across five unique instrumentals composed by the quartet on the spot, with no good way to extricate one’s sounds from the other. This is camaraderie, tenderness, and a generosity of experience come to life in Marfa.

 

Dungen’s journey to Marfa comes on the heels of renewed activity for the beloved Swedish quartet. Following the release of their sixth album (2010’s Skit I Allt), the group took a breather for the next five years, during which time guitarist Reine Fiske worked with his other project, The Amazing. 2015’s return Allas Sak saw Dungen finding their hygge, performing with a newfound serenity and centeredness that reflected upon their past without repeating it. Not long after, Dungen was commissioned by a Stockholm film festival to provide an original live musical score for a silent film, the groundbreaking 1926 animated adventure The Adventures of Prince Achmed, challenging them to write and perform under a new set of constraints. Collected as 2016’s album Häxan, it proved that Dungen were approaching a spontaneity in their music which was completely enmeshed with the rigor and perfection of their back catalog, a new peak of performance that signaled the second phase of their career would surprise even those who’d been with them from the start.

 

Expanding spontaneously into new directions is something that Woods are intimately familiar with. Once a side project for Jeremy Earl’s previous group, Meneguar, Woods quickly and surefootedly became a known quantity in ever-increasing circles of lo-fi folk music. Joined by former bandmate Jarvis Taveniere, Earl built Woods into a full band, founded a label (Woodsist) which has released ten albums by the group, and fostered burgeoning musical careers of artists like White Fence, Purling Hiss, and Wooden Wand, and helped launch the solo career of former Woods member Kevin Morby. As the enterprise progressed, Woods’ sound expanded beyond its austere beginnings, an additive approach that has witnessed the band’s growth as both a mastery of new forms and a journal of the paths they’ve taken along the way. Their most recent release (2017’s Love is Love) was all but unannounced, sprung on the world as a response to the pain and concern brought about by the political environment of resistance in America as a response to recent political events. Woods’ role in this as metaphysical pacekeepers to brighter times raises up all who are free to hear.

 

Dungen and Woods perform as though they’ve been with one another all along, with the unifying spirit of Marfa as the through-line that ultimately inspires great things. Says Reine Fiske of the experience, “Being in Marfa and given total freedom of creativity … being in-between – studio, earth and sky amongst other wanderers of culture and music, gave us a conception and a chance of what this music could be. Etched in time for us, this is what came to be, and this is what will always stay there with us.”

Dungen & Woods

Myths 003

Sortie le 16 mars 2018

Mexican Summer

Avant le prochain festival Marfa Myths 2018 au Texas, Mexican Summer dévoile les fruits de la résidence de la précédente édition. Pour ce troisième opus de Marfa Myths, ce sont Dungen, maîtres de la musique psychédélique de Stockholm, et Woods, pionniers de l’indie-folk de Brooklyn, qui ont écrit et enregistré sept toutes nouvelles chansons. Langoureuses, curieuses et dynamiques, ces chansons vont bien plus loin qu’une semaine de collaboration en studio. Elles représentent une compréhension et un respect mutuels de la musique de chacun, et une expérience superbement psychédélique.

 

Au fil de la progression de cette série Marfa Myths, la nature des collaborations entre les artistes sélectionnés – un membre de la famille Mexican Summer, l’autre suscitant toute l’admiration du label – définit plus nettement la nature de la démarche elle-même. Pour Dungen et Woods, les deux groupes ont assuré une tournée estivale américaine ensemble en 2009, et se sont ainsi rapprochés. Ensuite, la même année, ces deux groupes ont été la tête d’affiche du festival Woodsist, organisé par Jeremy Earl, membre de Woods, à Big Sur, en Californie. La connaissance mutuelle de la musique et des personnalités de chacun était déjà présente, et les huit ans qui ont suivi leur première tournée et la sortie de cet album n’ont fait que confirmer cette harmonie. Ce dernier EP est celui qui contient le plus de titres de la série, et qui ainsi voit renaître le lien rare et précieux entre Dungen et Woods.

 

Conformément au processus de fabrication d’un album Marfa Myths, les deux groupes ont été invités aux studios d’enregistrement du Marfa une semaine avant le festival, donnant aux participants – Gustav Ejstes et Reine Fiske de Dungen, et Jeremy Earl et Jarvis Taveniere de Woods – la liberté de s’acclimater à l’ambiance unique de l’expérience Marfa.

 

Le seul objectif était de faire de la musique ensemble, et de la partager dans le monde entier. Jarvis raconte : « Mes meilleurs souvenirs de cette expérience ne viennent même pas de l’enregistrement, mais de l’état d’esprit qu’on nous a permis d’avoir pendant tout le séjour. Par exemple le premier matin dans la maison avec tout le monde – Woods, Dungen, les gens de Mexican Summer et leurs familles –, on buvait du café, on regardait le désert par la fenêtre, le soleil nous éblouissait un peu mais on pouvait distinguer les silhouettes des enfants qui jouaient dehors. Mon deuxième souvenir, c’est quand j’ai regardé un film porno au cinéma du coin en compagnie de ce qui me paraissait être la ville entière. Deux moments totalement différents, mais qui m’ont donné un sentiment très fort de communauté. »

 

Pour les deux groupes, la résidence de Marfa Myths était l’occasion de tout remettre à plat, de reprendre là où ils s’étaient quittés, et de se concentrer sur la création avec une nouvelle lucidité favorisée par l’environnement. En préparation de l’enregistrement, les leaders des deux groupes ont écrit chacun une chanson à jouer ensemble (Jeremy Earl a écrit « Turn Around » et Gustav Ejstes « Jag Ville Va Kvar », en anglais « I Wanted to Stay »). « Turn Around » est nappé de touches ornementales – les lignes de piano dans le registre aigu durant le refrain, cette guitare insistante et descendante, le ronronnement légèrement stroboscopique du mellotron – qui font le lien entre la pureté conceptuelle de Woods et les talents de studio hors du commun de Dungen.

 

« Jag Ville Va Kvar » est comme un morceau de Dungen plus doux, avec un rythme ancré dans des breakbeats et enrobé de congas. Comme dans tous les titres de Dungen, la voix d’Ejstes introduit l’accroche instrumentale, ici un piano qui porte lentement le morceau avant de se dissoudre dans une avalanche de synthés. C’est une orchestration qui se retrouve assez rarement dans la musique de Dungen, mais il permet au titre de se transformer pour devenir l’un des plus méditatifs et chaleureux du groupe. Partout dans Marfa Myths 003, on entend les styles du groupe se répondre, via cinq orchestrations uniques écrites sur place par le quatuor, sans possibilité de distinguer qui a écrit quoi. Marfa a insufflé camaraderie, tendresse et générosité à cette expérience.

 

La venue de Dungen à Marfa poursuit la reprise des activités du quatuor suédois. A la suite de la sortie de leur sixième album (Skit I Allt en 2010), le groupe a fait une pause pendant cinq ans, durant lesquels le guitariste Reine Fiske s’est consacré à son autre projet, The Amazing. C’est en 2015 que Dungen reviennent avec Allas Sak, et montrent une nouvelle sérénité, un nouvel équilibre, rendant hommage à leur passé sans pour autant le répéter. Peu de temps après, le Festival international du film de Stockholm leur a commandé une bande originale pour un film muet, Les Aventures du prince Ahmed, révolutionnaire film d’animation allemand de 1926, ce qui les a poussés à écrire et jouer sous de nouvelles contraintes. Cette bande originale, qui a été compilée sur l’album Häxan en 2016, montre que Dungen s’approchaient d’une spontanéité dans leur musique, qui s’accordait totalement avec la rigueur et la perfection de leurs anciens travaux ; le commencement d’une seconde étape dans leur carrière qui allait surprendre leurs fans, même ceux de la première heure.

 

Woods, qui étaient d’abord un projet de l’ancien groupe de Jeremy Earl Meneguar, sont devenus partie intégrante des cercles grandissants de la musique folk lo-fi. Rejoint par son ancien partenaire Jarvis Taveniere, Earl a fait de Woods un vrai groupe, créé un label (Woodsist) qui a sorti dix albums pour le groupe, et a encouragé et soutenu des artistes comme White Fence, Purling Hiss et Wooden Wand. Il a également aidé à lancer la carrière solo d’un ex-membre de Woods, Kevin Morby.

 

La toute dernière sortie de Woods (Love Is Love en 2017) a été tout sauf discrète, se répandant sur le monde comme une réponse positive aux inquiétudes dues aux événements politiques, notamment les élections présidentielles aux Etats-Unis.

 

Dungen et Woods jouent comme s’ils avaient toujours joué ensemble, accomplissant de grandes choses avec l’esprit fédérateur de Marfa comme catalyseur. Reine Fiske raconte son expérience : « Etre à Marfa et avoir une liberté totale de création… être entre les deux – studio, terre et ciel parmi d’autres explorateurs de la culture et de la musique –, ça nous a donné une conception de ce que cette musique pourrait être, et une occasion de la faire. Pour nous c’est gravé dans le temps, et ça restera ici avec nous pour toujours. »