4 Guys From The Future

Headspace

Out November 9th 2018

Møs Møs

4 Guys From the Future is the artistic playgroud of Danish composer and songwriter Bjarke Porsmose. On November 9, the indie darling injects a third studio album into the blood streams of the world. Headspace, curiously deals with science, religion, space, decadence, love. It investigates the complex aspects of modern life while also granting an understanding and acceptance of a human race acting tremendously stupid and beautifully unrational.

 

”There are universal ideas and knowledge that count for every single person on the planet, and we’re not talking enough about that. Writing to 4 Guys From The Future, I’ve always tried to express a feeling of displacement in the world. It’s been my biggest issue personally and I see it everywhere around me. Trying to make songs from that existential mood, seems to be a desire of mine that I can’t simply ignore,” says Bjarke Porsmose.

 

4 Guys From The Future is a great musical example of the so-called ”nordic sound”. The band masterly combines beautiful melodies, stylistic playfullness and well-crafted productions when bringing to life the thoughtful and melancholic mood of a scandinavian temperament.

 

Where the 1st album sent dreamlike prophecies into the future and the 2nd album circled topics of personal and cultural decline, Headspace evokes a reassuring and hopeful attitude to life: ”I wanted to talk about the world I live in, in the second decade of the 21st century and through as wide a perspective as possible”, Bjarke Porsmose says about the new album.

 

The act was formed in Berlin in 2009, where Bjarke Porsmose then lived, soon moving back to Copenhagen and releasing the well acclaimed debut album ”Under the new morning sun” in October 2010. The album was picked up by a french audience and released the following year in France, Belgium and Switzerland, which took the band into a big and new level of european awareness. While touring, the band earned a great reputation as a live act and has harvested top reviews for both studio albums and live shows – playing the largest festival in northern europe, Roskilde Festival in 2011, touring Europe with Choir of Young Believers, played in Tivoli (Copenhagen), played at The National Gallery of Denmark, the highly conceptual Frost Festival, Nordic Winter Beat etc – while repeatedly toured Denmark and France.

 

When performing live the band extends to 4 or 5 (or more) members featuring gifted musicians like Rasmus Valldorf (Lily Electric, The Asteroids Galaxy Tour, Choir of Young Believers etc), Tobias Fuglsang (Lily Electric, Jacob Bellens), Mads Brinch Nielsen (The Asteroids Galaxy Tour, Bisse, Irah), Mads forsby (Illdjinn, Frisk Frugt, Girls in Airports). Every album has a habit of featuring great guest musicians (Jannis Makrigiannis, Mads Hyhne, Gustaf Ljunggren, Aske Zidore, Nicolai Koch etc).

4 Guys From The Future

Headspace

Sortie le 9 novembre 2018

Møs Møs

4 Guys From the Future, c’est le terrain de jeu artistique de Bjarke Porsmose, auteur-compositeur danois. Le 9 novembre sortira Headspace, son troisième album studio. Il parle de science, de religion, d’espace, de décadence et d’amour. Il se penche sur la complexité de la vie moderne tout en comprenant et en acceptant le fait que la race humaine agisse de manière totalement stupide et magnifiquement irrationnelle.

 

Bjarke Porsmose :  »Il y a des idées et un savoir universels qui sont importants pour chaque personne sur terre, et ce n’est pas de ça que nous parlons. En écrivant pour 4 Guys From the Future, j’ai toujours essayé d’exprimer une impression de déplacement dans le monde. Cela a toujours été mon problème majeur, et je le vois partout autour de moi. Essayer de faire des chansons à partir de ces questionnements existentiels semble constituer un désir que je ne peux tout simplement pas ignorer. »

 

4 Guys From the Future représente très bien le prétendu  »son nordique ». Le groupe combine parfaitement les magnifiques mélodies, l’espièglerie stylistique et les productions léchées tout en traduisant la nature mélancolique et pensive d’un tempérament scandinave.

 

Après un premier album aux prophéties oniriques envoyées dans le futur et un deuxième album abordant le thème du déclin personnel et culturel, Headspace évoque une attitude rassurante et pleine d’espoir à l’égard de la vie :  »Je voulais parler du monde dans lequel je vis, dans la deuxième décennie du XXIe siècle, avec la perspective la plus large possible. »

 

Le groupe s’est formé en 2009 à Berlin, où Bjarke Porsmose vivait à l’époque, puis il est revenu à Copenhague et a sorti son premier album, le très apprécié Under the New Morning Sun, en octobre 2010. L’album a été découvert par un public français puis sorti l’année suivante en France, en Belgique et en Suisse, ce qui a permis au groupe de se faire connaître plus largement en Europe. En tournée, le groupe s’est forgé une solide réputation sur scène et a bénéficié d’excellentes critiques à la fois pour leurs albums studio et pour leurs concerts. Ils se sont produits dans le cadre du plus grand festival d’Europe du Nord, Roskilde Festival, en 2011, ils sont partis en tournée européenne aux côtés de Choir of Young Believers, ils ont joué dans les jardins de Tivoli à Copenhague, à la National Gallery of Denmark, au très conceptuel Frost Festival, au Nordic Winter Beat, entre autres, tout en effectuant plusieurs tournées au Danemark et en France.

 

En concert le groupe passe de quatre à cinq membres (ou plus), faisant appel à de talentueux musiciens comme Rasmus Valldorf (Lily Electric, The Asteroids Galaxy Tour, Choir of Young Believers), Tobias Fuglsang (Lily Electric, Jacob Bellens), Mads Brinch Nielsen (The Asteroids Galaxy Tour, Bisse, Irah) ou Mads Forsby (Illdjinn, Frisk Frugt, Girls in Airports). D’ailleurs sur chacun de leurs albums se produisent toujours de grands musiciens parmi lesquels Jannis Makrigiannis, Mads Hyhne, Gustaf Ljunggren, Aske Zidore, ou encore Nicolai Koch.